CHAMGAP
VERIFIEDPassed the Codex final verification and publication gate. Evidence-verification cutoff: 2026-07-24. AI was used for research and drafting; the existence of all 2 cited sources was verified at the original page, followed by blind grading, adversarial audit, and build validation. Methodology v1.0.
Verdict No. 1789 · Search date 2026-07-24 · Methodology v1.0

Plantar-fasciitis night splint,
does it really help with Improvement of first-step morning pain and function in plantar fasciitis?

30-Second Summary
D
Evidence Grade D · 30 · Safety acceptable
Adding a night splint has not consistently improved pain beyond standard conservative care
What the
research shows
Night splints are rated D. Probe randomized 116 participants and had about 25% total attrition, but the exact 12-week analysis count was not reported in the source. The primary subjective pain-improvement outcome failed at 71% versus 66%. Wheeler 2017, a 40-person trial, also found no added benefit beyond structured rehabilitation, while conflicting small positive trials support D with 30 points.
What the
ads claim
Marketing claims that overnight stretching reliably removes first-step morning pain, while an added effect specific to the splint has not been reproduced.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The splint holds the ankle in dorsiflexion overnight to maintain a calf and plantar-fascia stretch.
  • Discomfort, sleep disruption, skin pressure, and poor adherence can occur.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Candidate index · review held

UNK.plantar-fasciitis-tension-night-splint.UNK.first-step-morning-pain-and-function-in-plantar-fasciitis.improve.addon

Unknown > Plantar-fasciitis tension night splint > Unknown > first-step morning pain and function in plantar fasciitis > Improvement claim > Added intervention on common background care

An automated migration candidate, not an issued permanent code; exact claim scope remains under review. This machine-generated migration candidate helps retrieval but is not a permanent assignment. The original verdict ID and URL remain authoritative.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Gap Measurement · Verdict 1789 · D 30
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

Probe randomized 116 participants and had about 25% total attrition, but the exact 12-week analysis count was not reported in the source. Primary pain improvement failed at 71% versus 66%. Wheeler 2017, a 40-person trial, found no added benefit when a splint was added to rehabilitation, while earlier small trials had conflicting positive results. Verdict 1735, which is C with 48 points, concerns extracorporeal shock-wave therapy for the same chronic condition; it is a different intervention and its evidence was not transferred to splints.

02

Why this is classified as D (30)

Probe 1999 randomized 116 participants; its primary pain-improvement outcome failed at 71% versus 66%, and total attrition was about 25%. The exact 12-week analysis count was not reported in the source. Wheeler 2017 also found no added benefit in 40 participants, while conflicting small positive trials support D with 30 points rather than F.

Counterpoint. An individual short trial is reasonable, but the splint should be viewed as an adjunct to load management, stretching, and footwear measures.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — Prioritized Probe's failed primary pain endpoint and Wheeler's lack of added benefit while retaining D because small positive trials conflict

Stored scoring profile
EndpointPSymptom or function itself is the target - including patient reports and performance tests
ReplicationR0Trials conflict in direction
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE0Null
PrecisionCXNo pooled confidence interval could be confirmed

Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (D).

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Reduction of first-step morning painDThe largest trial's primary endpoint was null at 71% versus 66%.
Reduction of pain during daily walkingDAdded benefit beyond rehabilitation was not reproduced.
Improvement in foot functionDA later randomized trial found no significant added functional benefit.

Cross-check — AI research and Codex final gate

AI was used for research and drafting. Blind grading, adversarial audit, and the methodology boundary rules were then reapplied before Codex performed the final evidence, grade, copy, and build checks. If a grade cannot be narrowed, both evidence positions and their reasons are published.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Probe RA et al. 1999Prospective single-blind randomized trial116 randomized; about 25% total attrition; exact 12-week analysis count not reported in the sourceFunding source not reported; study conducted at Scott & White ClinicPrimary four-point subjective pain improvement and SF-36Primary endpoint failed at 71% versus 66%.Largest direct trial
Wheeler PC. 2017Single-blind randomized add-on trial40 randomizedNo specific funding reported; no competing interests declaredThree-month pain, function, and flexibilityNo significant added benefit from adding a night splint to structured rehabilitation.Later null replication
§

Receipt — 2 References

All 2 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-07-24).

Probe RA, Baca M, Adams R, Preece C. Night splint treatment for plantar fasciitis: a prospective randomized study. Clin Orthop Relat Res. 1999;(368):190-195. PMID: 10613168.
checked
Wheeler PC. The addition of a tension night splint to a structured home rehabilitation programme in patients with chronic plantar fasciitis does not lead to significant additional benefits in either pain, function or flexibility: a single-blinded randomised controlled trial. BMJ Open Sport Exerc Med. 2017;3(1):e000234. PMID: 29259809. DOI: 10.1136/bmjsem-2017-000234.
checked
Research and draft: AI used · Cross-check: blind grading and adversarial audit
Final verification and publication gate: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-07-24 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Plantar-fasciitis night splint x first-step morning pain Evidence Grade D card
[Chamgap] Plantar-fasciitis night splint x first-step morning pain — Evidence Grade D·30. 2 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/joint-bone/plantar-fasciitis-night-splint-morning-pain/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.