Oral Single-Ingredient Vitamin B6 and Hemoglobin in Patients With Anemia
research showsSome patients with ALAS2-related anemia or verified/suspected B6 deficiency had Hb increases after oral pyridoxine/PPH. After separating transfusion, ESA, co-treatment, etiology and route, the quantitative between-group Hb effect of oral single-ingredient B6 across all anemia is not established. This is not a judgment of zero effect, equivalence or absence of human studies.
ads claimThe evidence does not support claims that B6 raises Hb in every anemia, relabeling combinations/ESA strategies as B6 alone, or substituting serumB6/reticulocyte changes for Hb treatment effects.
Four separate assessment dimensions
| Effect direction and size | Some patients with ALAS2-related anemia or verified/suspected B6 deficiency had Hb increases after oral pyridoxine/PPH. After separating transfusion, ESA, co-treatment, etiology and route, the quantitative between-group Hb effect of oral single-ingredient B6 across all anemia is not established. This is not a judgment of zero effect, equivalence or absence of human studies. |
|---|---|
| Evidence certainty | Certainty is low because verified oral evidence is mainly uncontrolled cases. Transfusion, ESA, etiology-specific care, selected reporting and source conflicts prevent treating observed Hb rises as an average causal effect. |
| Applicability | Limited to particular ALAS2 genotypes and LCIG/dialysis deficiency or suspected-deficiency cases. Iron/B12/folate deficiency, MDS, MF, children, pregnancy and nondeficient additional supplementation differ; route-unverified reports are not direct oral evidence. |
| Safety | Caution. B6 carries peripheral-neuropathy risk and total exposure across supplements, medicines and foods matters. TGA states risk cannot be excluded below50 mg/day. Australia's pharmacist-only change for >50-200 mg/day oral products is future-dated2027-06-01, not a Korean rule. Unreported adverse events or none observed in n=2 do not establish long-term, pregnancy, pediatric or renal-disease safety. Research doses are not instructions for personal use or changes to iron, ESA, transfusion or disease treatment. |
C, 46 points. The supplied calculator maps B/S/R1/I1/EX/B1/CX to C; zero strength flags select the fixed C anchor46. R1 is a disclosed mapping for absent observational-only vocabulary, not a claim that an RCT exists. Large descriptive case increases are not denied; the score is not treatment-success probability, official GRADE or independent certification.
Useful facts when choosing a product
- Pyridoxine and PPH separated; unreported salt/active equivalents not converted.
- Study dose/duration describes cases, not personal dosing or treatment-change instructions.
Chamgap Semantic Classification Code
Permanent code issued
S.vitamin-b6-anemia-study-specific-single.oral.anemia-etiology-specific-hemoglobin.hemoglobin-improvement.study-specific-pre-post-ongoing-careSupplements and nutraceuticals > Single pyridoxine or PPH; salt/active equivalence verified study by study > Patients with anemia, separated by etiology, genotype, deficiency, age and pregnancy > Improvement in hemoglobin in anemia > Main direct evidence compares own pre-post course/ongoing care; no concurrent placebo > Oral; unverified/IV records separated
Technical binding of unchanged ChatGPT C/46, Caution and etiology-specific anemia/oral-form/Hb/comparator boundaries. The code identifies the intervention and claim; it never contains the evidence grade, score, or safety result.
Exact Claim Classification
These independent facets prevent evidence from different forms, routes, populations, effects, and comparators from being mixed.
| Intervention class | S · Supplement or nutraceutical |
|---|---|
| Canonical ingredient or intervention | Vitamin B6 |
| Source or part used | Vitamin molecules; species/plant part not applicable; manufacturing source unreported where not stated |
| Formulation or processing | Single pyridoxine or PPH; salt/active equivalence verified study by study |
| Route | Oral; unverified/IV records separated |
| Dose | Study-specific, including pyridoxine80/180 mg/day and PPH30/60 mg/day; not equivalent or personal recommended doses |
| Duration | Case-specific follow-up over months; exposure/follow-up separated from adherence |
| Population | Patients with anemia, separated by etiology, genotype, deficiency, age and pregnancy |
| Effect or condition | Improvement in hemoglobin in anemia |
| Primary endpoint | Blood Hb concentration; page question endpoint, not a registered case-report primary |
| Comparator | Main direct evidence compares own pre-post course/ongoing care; no concurrent placebo |
| Duplicate-detection key | vitamin-b6|single-ingredient|oral|anemia-etiology-specific|hemoglobin|study-specific-comparator |
What the research actually shows
The directly verified oral reports are pyridoxine cases with specific ALAS2 variants(S01, S02), an LCIG-associated deficiency case with oral PPH(S03), and two oral-PPH cases in dialysis/ESA contexts(S04). These are patient courses, not placebo randomized trials. Acquired sideroblastic anemia(S05), the genetic diagnostic series(S06), myelofibrosis(S07), pediatric dialysis(S08) and pregnancy(S09) retain separate etiology, route and co-treatment verification levels. Pediatric PLP observation(S10) and the IV-trial title(S14) are not oral-treatment Hb estimates.
Why this is classified as C (46)
C, 46 points. The supplied calculator maps B/S/R1/I1/EX/B1/CX to C; zero strength flags select the fixed C anchor46. R1 is a disclosed mapping for absent observational-only vocabulary, not a claim that an RCT exists. Large descriptive case increases are not denied; the score is not treatment-success probability, official GRADE or independent certification.
Counterpoint. Remaining limits include etiology/genotype/sex/nutrition-related indirectness, small selected cases, unseparated transfusion/common care, unavailable full texts/routes/doses/total intake/PLP, source unit/figure conflicts and absent comparable CIs/clinical-importance thresholds. Reported improvement or nonresponse narratives were not arbitrarily erased or repaired.
Rejudgment record. Etiology-specific case signals and generalization limits both retained. — C, 46 points. The supplied calculator maps B/S/R1/I1/EX/B1/CX to C; zero strength flags select the fixed C anchor46. R1 is a disclosed mapping for absent observational-only vocabulary, not a claim that an RCT exists. Large descriptive case increases are not denied; the score is not treatment-success probability, official GRADE or independent certification.
| Claim type | B | B: human efficacy question about a specified oral intervention and Hb, not mere mechanistic existence(A) or safety-only inquiry. |
| Endpoint | S | Surrogate marker - laboratory or imaging measures Case application: S: measured Hb is a laboratory endpoint. Transfusion burden, symptoms or reticulocytes do not replace it with a hard or patient-reported Hb effect. |
| Replication | R1 | Single confirmatory trial Case application: R1 is a disclosed conservative mapping because the current vocabulary lacks a case/observational-only value; it does not assert a confirmatory RCT. Actual design is uncontrolled cases. Different etiologies/forms/routes and incomparable intervals are not merged into R0/RX. Neither independent multiple RCTs(R2) nor all five RE gates are claimed. |
| Independence | I1 | Mixed funding sources Case application: I1: verified public/no-support reports coexist with unverified funding. Unknown funding is not recast as I2 independence or I0 manufacturer-only evidence(case 29). |
| Effect size | EX | The clinical size of the effect could not be judged Case application: EX: large within-case increases are retained, but the isolated oral single-B6 between-group Hb magnitude is unverified. No comparable etiology/control/timepoint SD, CI or clinical-importance criterion supports a causal E+ or E0. This is not downgrading a valid effect to E~ merely because it is observational. |
| Precision | CX | No pooled confidence interval could be confirmed Case application: CX: applicable between-group Hb CI unverified. A narrow set of case values or the paper's IWG response classification does not establish precision/a universal MCID. |
Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (C).
Sub-claim status and scope
Original statuses and source references are preserved. No separate sub-claim grades or scores were assigned.
| Sub-claim | Original status | Source references |
|---|---|---|
| Hb response in specific ALAS2/deficiency cases | observed_case_signal | S01, S02, S03, S04 |
| Isolated oral single-B6 effect across all anemia | not_established_in_declared_scope | S01, S02, S03, S04, S05, S06, S07, S08, S09, S10 |
Review performed and remaining limitations
Remaining limits include etiology/genotype/sex/nutrition-related indirectness, small selected cases, unseparated transfusion/common care, unavailable full texts/routes/doses/total intake/PLP, source unit/figure conflicts and absent comparable CIs/clinical-importance thresholds. Reported improvement or nonresponse narratives were not arbitrarily erased or repaired.
Preliminary RoB 2-informed review — not a complete formal assessment
| Randomization | Main direct evidence is uncontrolled cases; no invented allocation concealment or placebo. |
|---|---|
| Deviations from assigned interventions | Transfusion, ESA/disease care, diet and co-supplements are not fully isolated. |
| Missing outcome data | All-treated denominators, individual nutrition/drug information and some full texts unavailable; not treated as zero attrition. |
| Outcome measurement | Measured Hb separated from B6/PLP/MCV/reticulocytes; S02 unit and S04 text/figure conflicts retained. |
| Selection of the reported result | Selected response cases, version duplication and unknown registration/multiplicity disclosed. |
Reasons for the certainty judgment — not formal GRADE
| Risk of bias | B1: one identified dimension of unadjusted major confounding(transfusion, co-treatment, time) in decisive uncontrolled evidence. Report selection, small case counts, unknown funding and absent CI are disclosed but not invented as two qualifying avoidable flaws or counted twice to force B2. |
|---|---|
| Inconsistency | Responses/nonresponses in different etiologies are not pooled as inconsistency in one clinical question. |
| Indirectness | Directness limited by route, form, co-treatment, age/pregnancy and baseline nutrition. |
| Imprecision | CX: applicable between-group Hb CI unverified. A narrow set of case values or the paper's IWG response classification does not establish precision/a universal MCID. |
| Publication bias | Potential publication of favorable cases and missing all-treated denominators; no statistical correction fabricated. |
Search scope and limitations. English, Korean and Japanese public-web searches and primary PubMed/publisher/J-STAGE sources were actually checked. Human cases/observational evidence exist, so no_human_study=false. AI search/page summaries were not used as clinical-value evidence. No exhaustive Embase/Cochrane/WHO ICTRP, institutional subscription or IPD search. Some PubMed search/API/EBI requests failed with tool/DNS issues; J Ren Nutr originals returned errors/403. ClinicalTrials.gov-index searching did not confirm an eligible oral-Hb registration ID, but does not establish nonregistration or absence of trials. This is a reproducible scoped search, not an exhaustive historical case catalogue.
Evidence Table
| Study | Design | Sample | Funding | Endpoint | Result | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Machiraju 2024: ALAS2 p.Arg204Leu | Uncontrolled single-patient longitudinal report | One treated 19-year-old man; relatives are not treatment controls | Explicitly no financial support for research, authorship or publication; no competing interests | Measured Hb in g/dL, 2022-12-06 through 2023-07-08 | Presentation 5.7; initiation 6.9 with one-unit transfusion history; subsequent 9.2/11.4/12.7/13.1. The +6.2 g/dL initiation-to-last-visit change is descriptive. | Direct oral-pyridoxine genotype-specific response signal, not a randomized effect isolated from transfusion or co-treatment |
| Huang 2021: ALAS2 p.R204Q | Single uncontrolled treatment case within a family genetic study | Three family members studied; only one treated anemic proband, a 38-year-old man | National Natural Science Foundation of China grant 81770119; no competing interests declared | Baseline Hb in g/L with conflicting 3-month endpoint unit; 9-month follow-up | Baseline 91 g/L. Endpoint is printed as "149 g/dL", conflicting with the normalization narrative. It was not silently changed to 149 g/L or a +58 g/L effect. | Preserves a qualitative oral-response signal while flagging the endpoint unit and numerical contrast as conflicting |
| Yasuda 2022: LCIG-associated B6 deficiency | Single uncontrolled treatment course with nearby transfusion | One 75-year-old man | Funding source not stated in the four-page full text; no conflicts and laboratory technical assistance acknowledged | Hb in g/dL at baseline and 6 months; serum B6 and reticulocytes remain separate | Hb 6.6 to 11.7 g/dL at 6 months; four-unit transfusion near initiation prevents attributing the descriptive +5.1 solely to B6. | Oral PPH case with verified low B6; neither confirmed MDS nor a general-anemia RCT |
| Yasuda 2026: two ESA-resistant hemodialysis cases | Two uncontrolled cases with different underlying diseases | One 78-year-old and one 62-year-old man | Funding source not stated in the accessed full text; no conflicts declared | Hb in g/dL and transfusion course; B6 concentrations and ESA exposure separated | Case 1: May6.4 is not the immediate July pretreatment value; 11.2 at 2 months. Case 2: text7.6 to 13.3 at 3 months, with unresolved figure/timing/endpoint discrepancies. | Oral PPH add-on cases requiring separation of ESA, transfusion and underlying disease |
| Baumann Kreuziger 2011: acquired idiopathic sideroblastic anemia | Retrospective clinical-record review; final-paper abstract verified | 231 records, 203 evaluable; 42% treated; exact response denominators unavailable without full text | PubMed labels non-US-government support only; funder identity and product provision unverified because full text was inaccessible | Hb improvement and 2006 IWG MDS response criteria, not an adjusted treatment contrast | Hb improvement≥1.5 g/dL in 6.8% of treated patients; some had concomitant EPO/other therapy. One patient(1.4%) was attributed by authors to monotherapy. | Etiology-specific counterevidence to universal responsiveness; unverified route/dose preclude use as a direct oral between-group trial |
| Jove Solavera 2025: seven-patient genetic diagnostic series | Genotype/phenotype case series, not a uniform B6 trial | Seven unrelated patients: four female, three male | MCIN/AEI, NextGenerationEU, foundation/university and author-contributed support disclosed; some BloodGenetics SL affiliations, with no conflicts declared | Patient-specific Hb, genotype and response narratives; enzyme activity is separate | Some lacked response after 6 or10 months; one was poorly adherent. This is not seven adequate oral-monotherapy failures. | Boundary evidence for genotype, sex and co-treatment; incomplete routes/doses prevent a general effect estimate |
| Yasuda 2019: primary and secondary myelofibrosis | Prospective23-patient assessment with deficient-patient supplementation; abstract access | 12 primary and 11 secondary cases; low B6 in 16/23 | No funder identified in public abstract/declarations; subscription full text inaccessible. No-conflict declaration is not proof of independent funding | Hb response and B6 status; quantitative between-group effect unverified | Low B6 in 16/23(69.6%); PPH supplementation reportedly did not elevate Hb. Mean change and CI are absent from the accessed abstract. | Low B6 does not guarantee Hb response; route unverified and confined to MF |
| Searcy 2020/2021: pediatric hemodialysis case | Uncontrolled single case, publisher abstract | One16-year-old male | Funder absent from public abstract; full text subscription-restricted. No conflicts declared | Hb in g/dL with 18-month follow-up; B6/iron markers separate | Hb7.3 at supplementation to 11.7 g/dL at 18 months, without additional transfusions; prior11 to 6.5 deterioration is separate. | Pediatric deficiency/ESA-context response; unverified route prevents classification as confirmed oral adult efficacy |
| Mohamed 2023: recurrent sideroblastic anemia in pregnancy | Single case including pregnancy course | One32-year-old G4P3 woman at 27 weeks | Qatar National Library funding stated; no conflicts | Hb in g/dL, low B6 and marrow findings; treatment timing unreported | Hb4.2, then maintained7-8 g/dL after B6 replacement without transfusion support; not expanded to normalization or an oral-monotherapy causal effect. | Etiology-specific pregnancy deficiency case, but route/dose/exact timing absent even in full text |
| Atia 2025: B6 status in pediatric hemodialysis | Cross-sectional observational comparison, not a supplementation RCT | 39 dialysis children and 43 healthy controls; 24 after excluding recent transfusion for anemia analysis | Self-funded research; open-access fees supported by STDF/EKB; no conflicts | PLP and associations with Hb/ESA, not supplementation treatment change | No Hb/B6 or ESA association described; not converted into a negative supplementation trial. | Indirect context on baseline status, co-treatment and transfusion |
Receipt — 14 References
Evidence access cutoff: 2026-09-17. Each citation states its actual access level (full-text transcription, abstract, index, or other) and remaining limitations. Bibliographic checking does not certify the study results or treatment efficacy.
Technical integration by: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-09-17 · Corrections: none
Cite this verdict
[Chamgap] Oral Single-Ingredient Vitamin B6 and Hemoglobin in Patients With Anemia — Evidence Grade C·46. 14 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/general/oral-single-vitamin-b6-anemia-hemoglobin/ · CC BY 4.0CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.
What this document does and does not do
Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.