CHAMGAP
APPROVEDReviewed and approved by the Chamgap Editorial Team (2026-08-07). The draft was written by AI, the existence of all 1 cited sources was verified at the original page, and the verdict passed blind grading and adversarial audit. Methodology v0.7.
Verdict No. 2360 · Search date 2026-08-07 · Methodology v0.7

Oral collagen peptides,
does it really help with Increased nail growth and reduced cracking or chipping?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 46 · Safety unknown
Nail measures improved, but no control group permits attribution to collagen
No product-related adverse reactions were reported among 24 completers, but the sample was too small for an adequate safety assessment. People should check animal-source ingredients and potential protein allergy.
What the
research shows
The grade is C with 46 points. This was an open single-arm study in 25 women; 24 completed. The reported 12% growth increase at 24 weeks has no corresponding absolute growth rate reported in the paper. The 12% and 42% changes were within-person, and no control permits a between-group collagen effect.
What the
ads claim
The claims of 12% faster growth and 42% less breakage must not be presented as placebo-adjusted effects. They are within-person changes without a causal between-group estimate.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The product was VERISOL specific bioactive collagen peptides from Gelita AG, Germany, with mean molecular weight about 2.0 kDa at 2.5 g/day.
  • The paper contains no separate funding or conflict-of-interest section or information. Michael Schunck and Steffen Oesser were affiliated with the Collagen Research Institute; actual Gelita funding, employment, or consulting relationships could not be confirmed.
  • Verdict 001 is B for skin hydration and elasticity, verdict 032 is C for joints and bone, and verdict 034 is C with 46 points for molecular-weight and absorption marketing. This verdict concerns different nail endpoints.
Gap Measurement · Verdict 2360 · C 46
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

Hexsel and colleagues gave 25 healthy women with brittle nails 2.5 g/day of VERISOL for 24 weeks; 24 completed. Absolute growth was 2.65±0.42 mm/month at baseline and 2.90±0.47 at 12 weeks. The paper reports a 12% increase at 24 weeks but does not give its exact absolute mean. Monthly cracking or chipping changed from 10.5±8.4 to 6.4±4.9.

02

Why this is classified as C (46)

A 25-person uncontrolled before-and-after study cannot estimate a between-group effect, giving C with 46 points.

Counterpoint. A preregistered blinded placebo-controlled trial of the same product is needed.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — Open 25-person single-arm before-and-after study with no comparator or between-group effect, completer emphasis, and incompletely verified product relationships

Scoring profile behind this grade
EndpointPPatient-reported treatment goal - the symptom is the goal
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI1Mixed funding sources
Effect sizeEXThe clinical size of the effect could not be judged

The scoring table and the verdict agree (C).

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Within-person nail growth and breakage change over 24 weeksCA signal was observed but it was not a between-group effect.

Cross-check — Codex and Claude

This verdict was drafted by Codex through literature review and source-existence checks, cross-checked through blind grading and adversarial audit, and settled by reapplying the methodology boundary rules. Cases with split grades were resolved through rejudgment.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Study 1Open-label single-center single-arm before-and-after study24Funding and conflict information were not reported in the paper; actual Gelita funding, employment, or consulting relationships could not be confirmedMiddle-fingernail growth and self-recorded cracking or chipping frequencyGrowth was 2.65±0.42 mm/month at baseline and 2.90±0.47 at 12 weeks; the absolute value corresponding to 12% at 24 weeks was not reported. Monthly breakage changed from 10.5±8.4 to 6.4±4.9.Only direct product study
§

Receipt — 1 References

All 1 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-07).

Hexsel D, Zague V, Schunck M, Siega C, Camozzato FO, Oesser S. Oral supplementation with specific bioactive collagen peptides improves nail growth and reduces symptoms of brittle nails. J Cosmet Dermatol. 2017;16(4):520-526. DOI: 10.1111/jocd.12393.
checked
Draft and rewrite: Codex (AI) · Verification: Codex blind grading and adversarial audit · Final adjudication: Claude
Reviewed and approved: Chamgap Editorial Team · Approval date: 2026-08-07 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Oral collagen peptides x nail growth and breakage Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] Oral collagen peptides x nail growth and breakage — Evidence Grade C·46. 1 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/skin-hair/oral-collagen-peptides-nail-growth-breakage/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.