CHAMGAP
Verdict No. 3156 · Search date 2026-09-17T17:31:40+09:00 · Methodology v1.0

TASK-1040 / R01-080 — Oral sole-added biotin and fasting triglycerides in adults with hypertriglyceridemia

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 54 · Safety caution
ChatGPT source review and self-verification · Codex technical integration
This completed manuscript was self-reviewed by the same model for sources, numbers, grading rules, safety and bilingual correspondence. It is not independent external review, journal certification or an error-free guarantee; technical checks and translations are not independent replication.
Caution. Direct-trial adverse-event denominators and long-term safety are unknown. Assay interference is described separately without declaring the TG assay affected. Exact placebo TG changes, formal between-group confidence intervals, actual analysis denominators, missing-data handling, registration, biotin status, detailed chemical specifications, adherence and long-term or special-population safety remain unverified. Graph approximations are separate from exact reported values, and access to some full PDFs and registry results was limited.
What the
research shows
One small direct 28-day trial shows a fasting-TG reduction signal. Approximate graph-derived between-group changes are about −0.5 mmol/L in diabetes and −1.2 mmol/L without diabetes; exact formal estimates and CIs remain null.
What the
ads claim
No specific advertisement or commercial product was evaluated; there is no product endorsement.

Four separate assessment dimensions

Effect direction and sizeOne small direct 28-day trial shows a fasting-TG reduction signal. Approximate graph-derived between-group changes are about −0.5 mmol/L in diabetes and −1.2 mmol/L without diabetes; exact formal estimates and CIs remain null.
Evidence certaintyCertainty is limited by a single small trial, baseline imbalance and analysis/registration gaps. C/54 is a supplied-rule indicator, not official GRADE or a probability of success.
ApplicabilityLimited to adults aged 30–65 described as hypertriglyceridemic, sole-added oral biotin, Avicel placebo and 28 days. Deficiency/sufficiency, modern lipid-drug add-on effects and long-term events are not established.
SafetyCaution. Direct-trial adverse-event denominators and long-term safety are unknown. Assay interference is described separately without declaring the TG assay affected.

Original calculator: C, no errors, CLI 0. Two strengths, I2 and statistically classified E+, select the supplied C-row score 54. E+ is not fulfillment of a validated clinical threshold.

*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The direct trial used a stated 5 mg biotin capsule three times daily for 28 days.
  • Biotin was the sole added active ingredient and the actual placebo was Avicel.
  • Manufacturing source, exact molecular form, assayed potency, total dietary intake and adherence are unverified.
  • The research regimen is not a personal dose or a prescription-change recommendation.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Permanent code issued

S.biotin-sole-added-active-hypertriglyceridemia.oral.adult-hypertriglyceridemia-diabetes-stratified.28-day-fasting-plasma-tg-change.avicel-placebo-usual-diet-activity

Supplements and nutraceuticals > Biotin > Adults aged 30–65 described as hypertriglyceridemic; type 2 diabetic and nondiabetic strata separate; lower TG entry threshold and biotin status unverified > Between-group change in fasting plasma TG at day 28 (mmol/L); registered primary status unverified > Avicel placebo capsules with common usual-diet/activity instructions; not an add-on comparison with standard lipid drugs > oral

Original C/54, axes, receipts, 42 uncertainties and full bilingual reports preserved without clinical recalculation. The code identifies the intervention and claim; it never contains the evidence grade, score, or safety result.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Exact Claim Classification

These independent facets prevent evidence from different forms, routes, populations, effects, and comparators from being mixed.

Intervention classS · Supplement or nutraceutical
Canonical ingredient or interventionBiotin
Source or part usedNutrient; actual manufacturing source, such as synthesis or fermentation, and raw-material origin unverified
Formulation or processingSole-added active biotin 5 mg in Avicel capsules; stereoisomer, salt and assayed purity unverified
Routeoral
DoseReported 5 mg (20.5 µmol) per dose, three doses daily: stated total 15 mg/day; abstract 61.4 µmol/day; total dietary intake unknown
Duration28 days of treatment; fasting measurements on days 0 and 28; no long-term follow-up
PopulationAdults aged 30–65 described as hypertriglyceridemic; type 2 diabetic and nondiabetic strata separate; lower TG entry threshold and biotin status unverified
Effect or conditionBetween-group fasting-TG concentration difference attributable to added biotin alone
Primary endpointBetween-group change in fasting plasma TG at day 28 (mmol/L); registered primary status unverified
ComparatorAvicel placebo capsules with common usual-diet/activity instructions; not an add-on comparison with standard lipid drugs
Duplicate-detection keyR01|biotin|oral|TG|hypertriglyceridemic adults|sole-added|Avicel placebo|28 days
01

What the research actually shows

# TASK-1040 / R01-080 — Oral sole-added biotin and fasting triglycerides in adults with hypertriglyceridemia

Evidence snapshot: **2026-09-17T16:59:15+09:00**. Actual research and self-review date: **2026-09-17**. This is the initial, unpublished completion of one claim. The task identifier is not a site verdict identifier. A new site ID, slug, URL, semantic code and first-publication date remain unassigned.

## 1. The thirty-second answer and current assessment

**A small, 28-day placebo-controlled trial of oral biotin as the sole added active ingredient reported a signal of lower fasting plasma triglycerides (TG). However, exact numerical placebo changes and confidence intervals for the formal between-group effect were incompletely reported, and baseline imbalance, small sample size, and analysis and registration reporting gaps limit interpretation. This does not establish routine treatment efficacy, long-term benefit, fewer cardiovascular events or prevention of pancreatitis.** Diabetic and nondiabetic results are kept separate. [S01]

Under the supplied current rules, the efficacy grade is **C, with the fixed score anchor of 54**. This is neither a probability of success nor an official GRADE assessment. The unchanged calculator returned C without validation errors for this task's actual axes; the score was separately obtained from the supplied two-strength anchor. **Because no validated clinical threshold was verified, magnitude was classified using a statistical convention.** This classification includes approximate reconstruction from the original graph and must not be described as established clinically important efficacy. Manuscript quality is separately **A, self-assessed by the same model**, not independent external review, journal certification or a guarantee of error-free content.

The safety label is **Caution**. Incomplete safety reporting in this trial and known interference with some biotin-sensitive assays are different issues. A research dose is not a personal dosing recommendation or an instruction to change prescriptions or stop medication. [S06][S07]

## 2. The fixed question and verified scope

The question is **adults with hypertriglyceridemia × oral biotin as the sole added active ingredient × an actual comparator × a defined-time between-group difference in fasting TG**. Proposed placebo, usual-care or active-control options were questions, not trial facts. The directly relevant trial compared biotin-containing Avicel capsules with Avicel placebo capsules at baseline and day 28. It included 18 participants with type 2 diabetes and 15 nondiabetic participants. [S01]

Although the paper describes participants as hypertriglyceridemic, its numerical entry criterion is an upper limit, **TG <5.33 mmol/L**. A lower threshold and individual confirmation using repeated fasting measurements are not reported. Directness is therefore accepted with this diagnostic-reporting caveat; it is not guaranteed that every person met a particular modern diagnostic definition. The result is not extended to people at or above 5.33 mmol/L. Baseline biotin concentration, deficiency assessment and total dietary intake are unreported, so the trial cannot be classified as either verified deficiency correction or supplementation exclusively in confirmed biotin-replete adults. [S01]

Sole biotin is not combined with chromium-containing products, other active vitamins, foods, dietary associations, animal mechanisms, injected biotin or topical treatment. TG concentration is a surrogate and is not interchangeable with VLDL, total cholesterol, glucose, HbA1c, insulin, body weight or clinical events. Measuring several metabolites in one paper does not turn them into a single efficacy endpoint.

## 3. Duplicate boundaries and reuse of existing material

The complete supplied **3,155-entry index** was screened for ingredient synonyms and adjacent TG claims, and all **10 supplied candidate originals** were read. Reading the index does not mean that 3,155 complete clinical reports, which were not supplied, were read. No exactly matching completed claim was identified, so this was handled as a **new independent question**.

| Existing ID | Different claim boundary and permitted reuse | |---|---| | 009 / 866 | Hair growth or hair loss / brittle-nail thickness, hardness or splitting. Only the ingredient and relevant safety map overlap. | | 1639 | High-dose MD1003 for disability or walking in progressive multiple sclerosis. Product, disease and endpoint differ. | | 3103 / 3104 | Nonvellus hair density in androgenetic alopecia / brittle-nail breakage events. Neither is fasting TG. | | 3105 | HbA1c in type 2 diabetes. Its link to the 2006 trial was reused; this review filled the TG-specific evidence gap. | | 3106 | Falsely low TSH on specific assay platforms. Laboratory-interference information was reused separately from efficacy. | | 3153 / 3154 / 3155 | Atopic-dermatitis severity / painful diabetic peripheral-neuropathy pain / cognition in diagnosed mild cognitive impairment. These are distinct claims. |

Reused IDs are **009, 866, 1639, 3103, 3104, 3105, 3106, 3153, 3154 and 3155**. Earlier efficacy grades and policy gaps were not automatically copied. Separate trial-family files, numeric files or older archives mentioned by prior records but not supplied here are not claimed as accessed. Newly accessed primary material is recorded separately in `sources.json`.

The original manifests, resumes, source records, verification reports, complete bilingual reports and supplied six-route deployment receipts for tasks 75–79 were reviewed for provenance. Tasks 75–78 belong to a closed earlier chat; only task 79 was complete in this chat at the start. The original Korean-member aliases for 76–78 were checked against the supplied rotation record. Historical unassigned or predeployment statuses and original bytes were not edited. No new site access, deployment or live route recheck was performed.

## 4. Design, product and population of the directly relevant 2006 trial

Revilla-Monsalve et al., *Biomedicine & Pharmacotherapy* 2006;60:182–185; DOI **10.1016/j.biopha.2006.03.005**, PMID **16677798**. The official abstract and bibliographic record, author-posted full text and tables, and original Figure 1 image were accessed. Publisher and author full-PDF downloads did not succeed, so downloaded complete PDF pages are not claimed. Full-text HTML access and visual inspection of the original graph were obtained separately. [S01]

| Item | Verified information and limits | |---|---| | Design and period | Randomized, double-blind, parallel, placebo-controlled, 28 days. Sequence generation and allocation-concealment implementation are unreported. | | Population and denominators | Ages 30–65, 33 people. Table groups: diabetic biotin 10/placebo 8; nondiabetic biotin 8/placebo 7. Allocation, completion and analysis denominators have not all been independently confirmed as identical. | | Baseline characteristics | Group mean ages approximately 46.9–50.14 years; mean BMI approximately 28.1–29.7 kg/m². Biotin deficiency or sufficiency is unverified. | | Intervention | Biotin 5 mg per capsule, printed as 20.5 µmol, three times daily before meals: a stated 15 mg/day. The abstract's 61.4 µmol/day and the 61.5 µmol/day sum of rounded capsule values are preserved as different printed representations. | | Chemical form and formulation | Biotin added to Avicel capsules. Stereoisomer, salt, source, batch, assayed purity, potency and stability are unverified. Identity with MD1003 or another product is not assumed. | | Actual comparator | Avicel placebo capsules on the same schedule. No chromium or other active ingredient was added. A complete inventory of any other inactive ingredients is unavailable. | | Common treatment and lifestyle | Participants had not been treated with medications known to affect insulin sensitivity, glucose or lipid concentrations. They were instructed to retain their usual diet and activity, add no supplements, and avoid unusually lipid-rich meals for two days before testing. Actual adherence, total dietary intake, alcohol intake and rescue treatment are unreported. | | Exclusions and renal function | Histories of renal, hepatic, immunologic or other endocrine disease, smoking, alcohol or drug abuse, systolic pressure >160 mmHg, pregnancy and lactation were excluded. Actual eGFR and creatinine values are unavailable. | | Measurement | Baseline and day-28 overnight fasting, with a 07:00 sampling visit. Exact fasting hours are unreported. Plasma TG was measured using a Kodak DT-60C; laboratory analyses were duplicated. Duplicate assays do not double participant counts. | | Statistics | Mean±SEM; individual baseline-to-day-28 changes; two-way ANOVA with interaction involving diabetes state and treatment. Log transformation, residual diagnostics, multiplicity control, exact model coefficients and confidence intervals are unreported. |

These details come from methods 2.1–2.4, Tables 1–2 and Figure 1. An incremental effect on top of contemporary lipid-lowering medication is not established by this comparator. Historical research instructions are not converted into treatment-change advice. [S01]

## 5. TG values: original reports and approximate between-group estimates

All **± values in the original numerical reports below are SEM**, not SD or confidence intervals. The original unit, **mmol/L**, is retained; no additional mg/dL table is produced without a verified source-specific conversion basis. Negative changes indicate decreases from baseline. In context, the paper's phrase “absolute differences” refers to concentration differences rather than percentage changes; its negative values are not converted to unsigned magnitudes. [S01]

| Item | Type 2 diabetes | Nondiabetic | |---|---:|---:| | Table biotin/placebo N | 10 / 8 | 8 / 7 | | Biotin baseline TG, mean±SEM | 3.34±0.28 | 3.71±0.44 | | Placebo baseline TG, mean±SEM | 2.93±0.31 | 2.73±0.36 | | Baseline biotin-minus-placebo difference, calculated here | +0.41 | +0.98 | | Biotin-arm day-28 change, reported mean±SEM | −0.55±0.20 | −0.92±0.36 | | Exact numerical placebo change in the paper | null: graph without a numerical table | null: graph without a numerical table | | Formal between-group coefficient and 95% CI | null: unreported | null: unreported |

**The −0.55 and −0.92 mmol/L changes are within the biotin arms, not effects relative to placebo.** The Figure 1 caption connects **P=0.005** to the biotin-versus-placebo treatment comparison in a two-way ANOVA including diabetes state. It is not copied as the P value for either separate stratum, for a within-arm comparison, for clinical importance or for effect magnitude. Describing baseline differences as nonsignificant does not remove them, particularly the +0.98 mmol/L imbalance in the nondiabetic stratum. [S01]

### Explicit approximation from the original graph

The placebo bars and error bars were visually read against the original image's ticks. No digital pixel fitting, OCR or individual-participant reanalysis was performed. Central readings were approximately **−0.02±0.19** for diabetic placebo and **+0.28±0.37 mmol/L, mean±SEM**, for nondiabetic placebo. These are not author-reported numerical values; exact-value fields remain null. [S01-figure]

Using `between-group change difference = mean change with biotin − mean change with placebo` gives approximately **−0.53** and **−1.20 mmol/L**, respectively. The clinical summary limits these to **about −0.5 and −1.2**. The comparison uses the plotted changes, not an unadjusted difference in final values. It does not resolve baseline imbalance, regression to the mean or missing-data concerns.

Conditional on the table group sizes also being the change-analysis sizes, change SDs were reconstructed using `SD = SEM×√N`. The between-group change difference was divided by the degrees-of-freedom-weighted pooled SD of individual changes. Cohen d is approximately **−0.89 / −1.20** and the small-sample-corrected Hedges g approximately **−0.85 / −1.13**, in diabetic / nondiabetic order. Holding the same sample-size assumption and the printed biotin SEMs, broader visual-reading choices for the placebo bars give g ranges of approximately **−0.98 to −0.67 / −1.25 to −1.02**. **These are visual-reading sensitivity ranges, not 95% confidence intervals.**

The reading ranges were placebo means −0.08 to +0.02 and SEMs 0.15–0.25 for diabetes, and means +0.23 to +0.33 and SEMs 0.32–0.42 for nondiabetes. Central readings, ranges, formulas, inputs and full-precision outputs are retained in `analysis/numeric_evidence.json`. This is a separately labeled approximation of an accessed figure, not replacement of unreported author values with invented facts.

The calculation does not reconstruct the formal two-way ANOVA coefficient or a baseline-adjusted ANCOVA. Approximate standardization could change if actual analysis denominators differ or the distribution is strongly asymmetric. Formal confidence intervals, stratum-specific P values, interaction P values, validated MCIDs and responder thresholds remain null. TG was not reconstructed by multiplying VLDL changes by a constant. No pooled effect across diabetes strata, ARR, NNT or clinical-event effect was calculated.

## 6. Contrary or indirect evidence and exclusions

**The earlier 2004 human study reported nonsignificant results.** Báez-Saldaña et al. described separate cross-sectional and intervention protocols. The 24+30 cross-sectional participants were not combined with the 27 intervention participants into one randomized trial. Intervention groups were diabetic biotin 10/placebo 5 and nondiabetic biotin 7/placebo 5. The intervention population was not uniformly selected for hypertriglyceridemia, and the nondiabetic baseline TG means were lower. [S02]

| TG in 2004 Table 2, mmol/L, mean±SEM | Baseline | Day 28 | |---|---:|---:| | Diabetic biotin | 2.49±0.39 | 2.85±0.32 | | Diabetic placebo | 2.09±0.36 | 2.91±1.49 | | Nondiabetic biotin | 1.57±0.30 | 1.44±0.20 | | Nondiabetic placebo | 1.29±0.22 | 1.43±0.32 |

The table and results describe no statistically significant metabolic changes in the reported comparisons. This is not equivalence or proof of no effect in every person. An exploratory discussion concerns baseline TG >2.24 mmol/L, but arm-specific subgroup denominators, variances and an exact comparison are unavailable. That discussion is not adopted as a direct target estimate. The study is neither pooled with 2006 nor assigned R0 on the assumption of conflicting, directly comparable PICOT-specific confidence intervals. Shared investigators and some grants also prevent counting it as independent replication. Individual participant overlap remains unverified. [S02]

**Dose correction:** The published 2007 erratum was read as a PDF and page image. In the specified parts of the 2004 paper, 6.14 µmol/day must read **61.4 µmol/day**, and specified occurrences of 2.05 must read **20.5**. The uncorrected text is not used to classify this as a 1.5 mg/day trial. The correction applies to its named paper and locations; it does not silently correct unverified doses in every earlier citation. A unique DOI or PMID for the erratum remains unverified. [S03]

The 2016 biotin-plus-metformin versus metformin-alone study is relevant to a sole additional active ingredient, but its accessible outcomes concern glucose, with no usable fasting-TG comparison. It was excluded for this endpoint. The 60 randomized participants were separated from the 54 completers described in the text; the flow chart's label of 60 completers conflicts with the text/table counts of 28+26. This discrepancy is recorded, not silently resolved, and the previous glucose claim is not regraded. [S04]

Chromium picolinate plus biotin does not identify biotin's independent effect. Review-level pooled estimates containing such combinations were also not used as direct estimates here. [S05][S09] A 1980 healthy-volunteer lipid study, a 1972 cholesterol-focused study and a 1958 deficiency case are original-source leads from the reference list; those original papers were not directly accessed. Dietary or circulating-biotin associations, animal mechanisms and injection studies are not the target controlled TG contrast.

The official NCT05832190 registry page did not expose usable result details, and API and WHO follow-up attempts failed. Current status, actual arm-specific results and sole-biotin-arm eligibility remain unverified. Neither a status from a mirror nor planned combination treatment is substituted for actual results, and all arms are not assumed to be combinations without verification. [S08]

## 7. Bias, denominators, funding and clinical meaning

The direct trial is small: **33 people**. Agreement between the total and table group sizes does not establish zero attrition, complete intention-to-treat analysis or absence of missing data. The labels randomized and double-blind are separated from sequence generation, concealment implementation, assessor roles and successful maintenance of masking. Those details are not reported; nonreporting is not proof that the procedures were omitted. [S01]

TG is central to the paper, but registered primary, secondary, post hoc and co-primary status could not be verified. Therefore, `primary_failed_secondary_positive` and `coprimary_split` remain null: unknown successes or failures are not invented as scoring factors. Analyses involve two diabetes states and several metabolites, but detailed multiplicity adjustment is unreported. There is no extended follow-up supporting persistence beyond 28 days. The published mean±SEM and change analysis were used, while log transformation, skew, outlier and missing-data sensitivity checks remain unverified.

The acknowledgments name public research grants **34277M and 44266M** and university support **IN201901**. These support I2 under the supplied funding-independence rule, but do not establish complete disclosure of product-supply contracts or competing interests. Public funding is not external editorial verification or replication by a separate research team. The overlap in investigators and some support with the 2004 paper is explicitly retained. [S01][S02]

An approximate magnitude exceeding a moderate statistical convention does not satisfy a verified minimum clinically important difference. Lower TG is not converted into fewer events, prevented admissions or replacement of standard care. An unreported confidence interval is not no effect; nonsignificance is not equivalence; a laboratory change is not an individual's expected treatment success.

## 8. Safety is assessed separately

**Safety label: Caution.** Arm-specific adverse events and discontinuations, event definitions, surveillance and exposure-linked denominators were not verified in the direct trial. Nonreporting is neither safety confirmation nor zero events. Long-term use, pregnancy or lactation, pediatric use, hepatic or renal disease and multiple-drug use cannot be declared safe from this short trial. Excluding a history of renal disease is not a measured normal eGFR. [S01]

As indirect safety information, Table 8 of the 2016 metformin comparison reports nausea 2/1, loose stools 1/0 and gastric irritation 8/7, in metformin-alone/added-biotin order. Biotin exposure was four weeks and total observation six weeks; reported completer counts were 28/26. The exact safety-analysis denominator and repeated-event handling are not separately identified, so event rates were not calculated. The authors report no observed serious adverse events, but that is a finding from this small combination-with-common-treatment study, not proof of causal safety of biotin or zero events in the 2006 15 mg trial. [S04]

The NIH and FDA material, together with the reused scope of existing ID 3106, supports explaining that biotin may cause misleadingly high or low results in some assays. The FDA specifically discusses falsely low troponin results with some methods. The affected test and magnitude depend on the platform, reagents and circumstances. Supplement use is information for the clinical and laboratory teams. This report gives no universal withholding interval or personal dose. [S06][S07]

**TSH or troponin interference was not used to declare the 2006 Kodak TG result artifactual.** Susceptibility of that particular TG reagent is unverified. An interference signal from another platform is safety context, not evidence that erases or strengthens the TG treatment signal. The 15 mg/day research regimen is descriptive, not advice to take it, change prescriptions, stop diabetes or lipid medication, or replace standard treatment.

## 9. Application of the supplied original rubric and calculator

Original calculator SHA-256: `fdb27bbf68b61a276e46241f32af2b607b72300b1385589f08caeaebfb1e3744`. The provided file was not changed. Its three functions and CLI were actually executed with this task alone. Results were `validate_axes=[]`, `derive_grade=C`, `check_verdict=[]`, and **CLI exit code 0**. Inputs, outputs, standard output/error, execution time and before/after original-file hashes are retained in `grading/`.

| Axis | Adopted value | Basis and limitation | |---|---|---| | Claim type | B | A clinical efficacy question. | | Endpoint | S | Fasting TG is a surrogate. | | Replication | R1 | One directly relevant controlled trial in the accessed evidence. The code's confirmatory-trial label does not establish a large preregistered confirmatory study. | | Independence | I2 | The direct paper names public and university support. This is not separate-team replication or external editorial review. | | Effect | E+ | Tier 2 of case 28: a statistical convention applied to approximate standardized between-group changes reconstructed from the graph, SEM and table sizes. This is not a validated MCID finding. | | Precision | CX | The exact formal-model confidence interval is unreported. Reading-sensitivity ranges are not clinical confidence intervals. | | Bias | B2 | A small direct trial and major allocation, analysis and registration reporting gaps. This is the supplied rubric category, not an official RoB 2 assessment. | | No human study / large hard-endpoint trial | false / false | Human controlled data exist; this is not a large clinical-event trial. |

**Case 28** explicitly revises the older instruction that absence of a clinical threshold always requires EX. Cases 30 and 43 require the actual between-group comparison: neither a within-arm change nor an unadjusted final-value difference was substituted. Case 44 prevents B0 without evidence for allocation, analysis and registration. The original Python dictionary retains the older MCID wording for E+, but the current document's explicit amendment was applied. The code and evaluation system were not rewritten.

Endpoint S and bias B2 cap the grade at C. The strengths are **I2 and E+, two in total**. The supplied C-row anchors are **46/50/54/56/56**; the two-strength anchor is **54**. This was a separately executed lookup, not a claim that the original Python program outputs scores. This task has valid axes and a successful run, so **no unscored policy gap was adopted**. The unscored outcomes of tasks 77–79 were not inherited automatically.

## 10. Explicit unknowns and applicability limits

`scope_and_extraction.json` retains **42 fields** as null with status and complete Korean and English reasons. The main groups are below. Approximate graph-derived estimates occupy separate fields and do not overwrite missing exact values.

| Unknown group | Present limitation | |---|---| | Diagnosis and nutrition | Lower TG threshold, individual diagnostic confirmation, diabetes-criteria details, baseline biotin status or deficiency method, dietary and total intake. Deficiency or sufficiency is not assumed. | | Product and exposure | Exact chemical form, source, batch and assayed potency; full inactive-ingredient list; adherence; actual diet/alcohol changes; rescue treatment; fasting hours; measured renal function. | | Design and denominator | Sequence generation, concealment, masking details, actual change-analysis N, analysis population, attrition and missing-data handling. Table counts are not converted into zero events. | | Endpoint and model | Registered primary/secondary/post hoc/co-primary status, multiplicity, transformation/distribution, exact placebo change or final values, formal coefficient/CI, stratum and interaction P values. | | Clinical meaning and safety | MCID or responder criteria, adverse-event/discontinuation counts, long-term and special-population safety, TG-reagent interference, complete interests, individual overlap with older trials, and actual registry results. |

`not_reported` means missing from the accessed original; `inaccessible` means the relevant information could not be accessed; `not_applicable` means the quantity is not an appropriate calculation for this concentration endpoint. Unknowns were not converted into zero, normality, equivalence, null efficacy, safety or independence. A small adult sample at 28 days is not generalized to all patients with hypertriglyceridemia.

## 11. Actual search, access and self-review scope

After reusing the supplied map, targeted searches addressed the TG-specific gap using Korean and English names, vitamin B7, D-biotin, hypertriglyceridemia, triglyceride and placebo, together with correction, retraction, registration and termination terms. `search_log.json` records **17 actual queries and individual access results**. Some searches returned unrelated pages; those were not counted as database findings of zero eligible studies. Direct subscription searches of Embase, Web of Science or the Cochrane search interface are not claimed.

The official PMID 16677798 record, the author-posted 2006 full text and original graph, the 2004 full text, the 2007 erratum PDF, the 2016 journal PDF, the combination-trial abstract, and official NIH/FDA information were used at their documented access levels. The 2006 publisher PDF and some registry APIs were inaccessible. The verified correction was incorporated. No correction or retraction notice for the exact 2006 DOI was verified in the accessed records, but a complete clearance from retraction or correction is not claimed.

The same model rechecked source attribution, numbers, units, direction, denominators, comparisons, grading rules, safety and bilingual correspondence. Graph reading, two language versions, copies of the same paper and technical code checks were not counted as independent replication or external audit. Initial `corrections=[]` is preserved; presubmission extraction amendments and review have a separate audit record. Successful code execution is not a guarantee of medically error-free content.

## 12. Completion, revision conditions and sources

The bounded conclusion is **a 28-day fasting-TG reduction signal in one small directly relevant trial, with uncertainty about the exact effect, precision and long-term clinical utility**. C/54 is the supplied-rule efficacy assessment, separate from self-assessed manuscript quality A. The result is `completed_with_uncertainty`, content verification is `completed_with_declared_scope`, and manuscript readiness is `ready_with_uncertainty`. Publication requires assignment of a new site ID, not a clinical hold. The handoff has `clinical_todo=[]`.

Exact placebo changes, actual analysis denominators, formal model estimates or a validated clinical threshold, as well as a new direct trial, registry results, corrections, retraction, numerical errors or changed population/formulation boundaries, are revision triggers. A change in the approximate magnitude classification would also require revisiting E+ and the score. These are conditions for a traceable future revision, not unfinished clinical work for the receiver.

The input snapshot and earlier originals remain unchanged. After this content delivery, tasks 79 and 80 constitute **2/5** completions in this chat; task 81 was not started. No server access, deployment, new chat, subagent or Work-mode transition occurred. The frozen completion, self-contained transport and actual technical-validation outcomes are distinguished in external integrity receipts. The technical recipient is not asked to rerun clinical tools.

### Source connections

**S01** Revilla-Monsalve et al., 2006. DOI 10.1016/j.biopha.2006.03.005; PMID 16677798. [Official abstract][S01], [author-posted complete text][S01-full], [original Figure 1][S01-figure].

**S02** Báez-Saldaña et al., 2004. DOI 10.1093/ajcn/79.2.238. [Author-posted complete text][S02]. **S03** The paper's 2007 dose erratum. [Original erratum PDF][S03].

**S04** The 2016 add-on biotin/metformin comparison. DOI 10.9790/0853-15079100106. [Journal PDF][S04]. **S05** Albarracin et al., combination trial; DOI 10.1002/dmrr.755; PMID 17506119. [Official abstract][S05].

**S06** NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. [Biotin — Health Professional Fact Sheet][S06]. **S07** FDA. [Biotin Interference with Troponin Lab Tests][S07].

**S08** [Official NCT05832190 record][S08]: actual-result access limited. **S09** [2022 systematic review][S09]: used as a source map, not adopted as a pooled target effect.

[S01]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/16677798/ [S02]: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/7754969_Effects_of_biotin_on_pyruvate_carboxylase_acetyl-CoA_carboxylase_propionyl-CoA_carboxylase_and_markers_for_glucose_and_lipid_homeostasis_in_type_2_diabetic_patients_and_nondiabetic_subjects [S03]: https://www.researchgate.net/profile/Armida-Baez-Saldana/publication/297184582_Erratum_Effects_of_biotin_on_pyruvate_carboxylase_acetyl-CoA_carboxylase_propionyl-CoA_carboxylase_and_markers_for_glucose_and_lipid_homeostasis_in_type_2_diabetic_patients_and_nondiabetic_subjects_Am/links/5a5f9c34aca2727352437ce1/Erratum-Effects-of-biotin-on-pyruvate-carboxylase-acetyl-CoA-carboxylase-propionyl-CoA-carboxylase-and-markers-for-glucose-and-lipid-homeostasis-in-type-2-diabetic-patients-and-nondiabetic-subjects.pdf [S04]: https://www.iosrjournals.org/iosr-jdms/papers/Vol15-Issue%207/Version-9/R1507910106.pdf [S05]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/17506119/ [S06]: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Biotin-HealthProfessional/ [S07]: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/in-vitro-diagnostics/biotin-interference-troponin-lab-tests-assays-subject-biotin-interference [S08]: https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT05832190 [S09]: https://doi.org/10.3389/fnut.2022.1046800 [S01-full]: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/7102854_Biotin_supplementation_reduces_plasma_triacylglycerol_and_VLDL_in_type_2_diabetic_patients_and_in_nondiabetic_subjects_with_hypertriglyceridemia [S01-figure]: https://www.researchgate.net/publication/7102854/figure/download/fig1/AS%3A583855740313600%401516213464942/Mean-of-absolute-differences-between-0-and-28-d-SEM-produced-by-the-treatment-with.png

02

Why this is classified as C (54)

Original calculator: C, no errors, CLI 0. Two strengths, I2 and statistically classified E+, select the supplied C-row score 54. E+ is not fulfillment of a validated clinical threshold.

Counterpoint. Exact placebo TG changes, formal between-group confidence intervals, actual analysis denominators, missing-data handling, registration, biotin status, detailed chemical specifications, adherence and long-term or special-population safety remain unverified. Graph approximations are separate from exact reported values, and access to some full PDFs and registry results was limited.

Recorded calculator adoption. Original calculator: C, no errors, CLI 0. Two strengths, I2 and statistically classified E+, select the supplied C-row score 54. E+ is not fulfillment of a validated clinical threshold.

Stored scoring profile
EndpointSSurrogate marker - laboratory or imaging measures
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE+Original calculator: C, no errors, CLI 0. Two strengths, I2 and statistically classified E+, select the supplied C-row score 54. E+ is not fulfillment of a validated clinical threshold.
PrecisionCXNo pooled confidence interval could be confirmed

Review performed and remaining limitations

This completed manuscript was self-reviewed by the same model for sources, numbers, grading rules, safety and bilingual correspondence. It is not independent external review, journal certification or an error-free guarantee; technical checks and translations are not independent replication.

Exact placebo TG changes, formal between-group confidence intervals, actual analysis denominators, missing-data handling, registration, biotin status, detailed chemical specifications, adherence and long-term or special-population safety remain unverified. Graph approximations are separate from exact reported values, and access to some full PDFs and registry results was limited.

03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Revilla-Monsalve et al., 2006; DOI 10.1016/j.biopha.2006.03.005; PMID 16677798.Randomized, double-blind, parallel, Avicel-placebo-controlled, 28 days. Allocation and analysis details incompletely reported.33 total; diabetic biotin10/placebo8, nondiabetic8/7. Actual change-analysis N, attrition and missing data unverified.Public grants 34277M/44266M and university support IN201901; complete interests and supply contracts unverified.Between-group change in overnight-fasting plasma TG (mmol/L), day 0 to 28; registered primary status unknown.Reported biotin within-arm changes −0.55±0.20/−0.92±0.36 SEM. Overall treatment P=0.005. Approximate graph-derived group differences −0.53/−1.20; formal coefficient/CI null.One central direct trial, limited by size, baseline imbalance and denominator/registration gaps. No numerical synthesis weight assigned.
Báez-Saldaña et al., 2004; DOI 10.1093/ajcn/79.2.238; published 2007 dose correction applied.A 28-day placebo intervention protocol separate from a cross-sectional comparison; TG is a metabolic measure.27 intervention participants (diabetic10/5, nondiabetic7/5); 54 cross-sectional participants are not added.Some grants and investigators overlap with 2006. Individual participant overlap is unknown.Baseline/day-28 TG table, but no usable hypertriglyceridemia-subgroup denominator or between-group estimate.No significant metabolic changes verified. Nonsignificance is not equivalence or established null effect. Corrected dose61.4 µmol/day.Contrary/indirect evidence presented separately; not independent replication or a direct pooled TG effect.
Siyamala Devi and Ranjani, 2016; DOI 10.9790/0853-15079100106.Open randomized added biotin/metformin versus metformin; four-week biotin exposure, six-week observation.60 randomized30/30; text completers28/26, conflicting with a 60-completer flow-chart label.Authors declare no conflict, but specific funding and product-supply sources are unverified.Weekly fasting/postprandial glucose; no usable fasting-TG group comparison.No TG efficacy estimate. Indirect Table8 adverse-event counts are separated and not transferred to the direct trial.Excluded from TG efficacy analysis; no regrading of earlier HbA1c or glucose verdicts.
Albarracin et al., 2008; DOI 10.1002/dmrr.755; PMID17506119.Chromium picolinate plus biotin combination compared with control in diabetes.348 in the official abstract; not added to the sole-biotin direct denominator.Abstract checked for composition exclusion; complete funding and competing interests unverified in this task.Metabolic outcomes of a combination, not an attributable sole-biotin TG effect.The independent contributions of chromium and biotin cannot be isolated by this contrast.Excluded from direct evidence for multiple active ingredients; not double-counted with reviews.
§

Receipt — 9 References

Evidence access cutoff: 2026-09-17T17:31:40+09:00. Each citation states its actual access level (full-text transcription, abstract, index, or other) and remaining limitations. Bibliographic checking does not certify the study results or treatment efficacy.

Biotin supplementation reduces plasma triacylglycerol and VLDL in type 2 diabetic patients and in nondiabetic subjects with hypertriglyceridemia
official abstract and metadata; author-uploaded full-text HTML including tables; original Figure 1 image visually inspected
checked
Effects of biotin on pyruvate carboxylase, acetyl-CoA carboxylase, propionyl-CoA carboxylase, and markers for glucose and lipid homeostasis in type 2 diabetic patients and nondiabetic subjects
author-uploaded full-text HTML including Table 2; linked published dose erratum separately read
checked
Erratum to the 2004 Báez-Saldaña et al. biotin metabolic study
complete one-page PDF and page-0 screenshot visually inspected
checked
A Randomized, Open Label, Comparative Study of Biotin as an Add-on Therapy to Metformin Vs. Metformin Alone in Newly Diagnosed Type 2 Diabetes Mellitus Patients
full seven-page journal PDF; methods, flow chart and result tables visually checked using screenshots
checked
Chromium picolinate and biotin combination improves glucose metabolism in treated, uncontrolled overweight to obese patients with type 2 diabetes
official PubMed abstract and metadata
checked
Biotin — Health Professional Fact Sheet
official full webpage
checked
Biotin Interference with Troponin Lab Tests — Assays Subject to Biotin Interference
official full webpage
checked
NCT05832190 — GUTERRING registry lead
official page reached but only JavaScript shell exposed; API and WHO follow-up unavailable
checked
2022 systematic review of biotin supplementation and glycemic control/lipid profile in type 2 diabetes
searchable review text used as a source map only
checked
The scope covered all 59 input files and their relevant structures, the full 3,155-entry index, 10 complete candidate originals, original records and aliases for tasks 75–79 and their supplied six-route receipts, actual gap searches and accessible TG sources, graphs and erratum, the original calculator and both full manuscripts. No server work, deployment, next task or independent external review was performed.
Technical integration by: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-09-17T17:31:40+09:00 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

TASK-1040 / R01-080 — Oral sole-added biotin and fasting triglycerides in adults with hypertriglyceridemia Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] TASK-1040 / R01-080 — Oral sole-added biotin and fasting triglycerides in adults with hypertriglyceridemia — Evidence Grade C·54. 9 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/heart/oral-sole-biotin-hypertriglyceridemia-fasting-triglycerides/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.