CHAMGAP
VERIFIEDPassed the Codex final verification and publication gate. Evidence-verification cutoff: 2026-08-05. AI was used for research and drafting; the existence of all 1 cited sources was verified at the original page, followed by blind grading, adversarial audit, and build validation. Methodology v1.0.
Verdict No. 2298 · Search date 2026-08-05 · Methodology v1.0

First-180-day oral-anticoagulant prescription coverage above 80% versus 80% or less,
does it really help with Increased ischemic stroke and systemic embolism in atrial fibrillation?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 56 · Safety warning
First-180-day prescription coverage of 80% or less was associated with more stroke than coverage above 80%, but actual ingestion and residual confounding remain unresolved
Lower anticoagulant prescription coverage may be associated with thromboembolic risk, while coverage above 80% was associated with more major bleeding in this study. Do not double doses or stop treatment in response to a dosing problem without following drug-specific instructions and clinical advice.
What the
research shows
The grade is C with 56 points. In Korean insurance data from 84,227 new oral-anticoagulant users with atrial fibrillation, two-year ischemic-stroke incidence was 5.61% with first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% and 7.68% with coverage of 80% or less; the weighted hazard ratio was 0.71. Prescription coverage records available medication days, not actual ingestion, and this retrospective cohort cannot eliminate healthy-adherer differences in behavior or healthcare access. Systemic embolism was not reported as a separate outcome.
What the
ads claim
Verdict 773 is B with 77 points for edoxaban itself preventing stroke or systemic embolism in nonvalvular atrial fibrillation. This verdict instead compares first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% versus 80% or less. The cohort directly reported ischemic stroke, not a stroke-or-systemic-embolism composite.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The comparison was first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% versus 80% or less.
  • Prescription coverage is calculated from claims and dispensing, not observed ingestion.
  • People with stroke, major bleeding, death, or drug switching during the first 180 days were excluded from subsequent outcome analysis.
  • Systemic embolism was not reported separately or as a composite, so this dataset cannot provide that estimate.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Candidate index · review held

M.oral-anticoagulant-prescription-coverage-of-80-percent-or-less-during-the-first.oral.ischemic-stroke-and-systemic-embolism-in-atrial-fibrillation.increase.UNK

Medicinal interventions > Oral-anticoagulant prescription coverage of 80% or less during the first > Oral > ischemic stroke and systemic embolism in atrial fibrillation > Increase claim > Unknown

An automated migration candidate, not an issued permanent code; exact claim scope remains under review. This machine-generated migration candidate helps retrieval but is not a permanent assignment. The original verdict ID and URL remain authoritative.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Gap Measurement · Verdict 2298 · C 56
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

Lee and colleagues retrospectively analyzed Korean National Health Insurance claims from 2010 through 2018 for 84,227 new oral-anticoagulant users with nonvalvular atrial fibrillation and CHA2DS2-VASc scores of at least 2. They compared 50,178 people with first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% and 34,049 with coverage of 80% or less from day 181 for up to two years. Weighting included age, sex, hypertension, diabetes, heart failure, myocardial infarction, coronary and peripheral vascular disease, thromboembolic history, anemia, kidney disease, alcohol problems, risk scores, and multiple concomitant drugs. Diet, exercise, smoking, health engagement, socioeconomic conditions, and healthcare access were unavailable. The authors explicitly discussed the healthy-adherer effect, especially for mortality, but could not remove it from the stroke estimate. Korea's National Research Foundation funded the study, with no funder role.

02

Why this is classified as C (56)

Absolute and relative ischemic-stroke differences were clear, but dispensing-based exposure, residual confounding, and 180-day survivor selection in one retrospective cohort give C with 56 points.

Counterpoint. Ischemic stroke was 5.61% (95% CI 5.17 to 6.07) with first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% versus 7.68% (7.08 to 8.33) with coverage of 80% or less. Major bleeding moved oppositely: 4.49% (4.11 to 4.85) versus 3.61% (3.16 to 4.06).

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — The 84,227-person claims cohort, prescription-coverage definition, absolute two-year ischemic-stroke and major-bleeding rates, measured and unmeasured confounding, healthy-adherer discussion, and public funding were applied

Stored scoring profile
EndpointHHard endpoint - actual events such as death
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE+Meets the clinically important threshold

Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (C).

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Increased ischemic strokeCRates were 7.68% with first-180-day prescription coverage of 80% or less versus 5.61% with coverage above 80%, with residual observational confounding.
Increased systemic embolism?The study did not report systemic embolism separately or in a composite.
Change in major bleedingCMajor bleeding was higher with first-180-day prescription coverage above 80%, 4.49% versus 3.61%.

Cross-check — AI research and Codex final gate

AI was used for research and drafting. Blind grading, adversarial audit, and the methodology boundary rules were then reapplied before Codex performed the final evidence, grade, copy, and build checks. If a grade cannot be narrowed, both evidence positions and their reasons are published.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Lee WK et al. 2023Retrospective Korean National Health Insurance claims cohort84,227 people: 50,178 with first-180-day prescription coverage above 80% and 34,049 with coverage of 80% or lessFunded by the Korean government's National Research Foundation; funder had no roleIschemic stroke, major bleeding, and death from day 181 through two yearsIschemic stroke 5.61% versus 7.68%, weighted HR 0.71 (95% CI 0.67 to 0.76); major bleeding 4.49% versus 3.61%, HR 1.27 (1.18 to 1.38)Decisive single observational study
§

Receipt — 1 References

All 1 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-05).

Lee WK, Woo SI, Hyun DK, et al. Impact of treatment adherence on the effectiveness and safety of oral anticoagulants in patients with atrial fibrillation: a retrospective cohort study. Eur Heart J Qual Care Clin Outcomes. 2023;9(3):216-226. DOI: 10.1093/ehjqcco/qcac023.
checked
Research and draft: AI used · Cross-check: blind grading and adversarial audit
Final verification and publication gate: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-08-05 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

First-180-day oral-anticoagulant prescription coverage above 80% versus 80% or less x stroke and systemic embolism Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] First-180-day oral-anticoagulant prescription coverage above 80% versus 80% or less x stroke and systemic embolism — Evidence Grade C·56. 1 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/heart/oral-anticoagulant-low-adherence-stroke-systemic-embolism/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.