CHAMGAP
VERIFIEDPassed the Codex final verification and publication gate. Evidence-verification cutoff: 2026-08-05. AI was used for research and drafting; the existence of all 3 cited sources was verified at the original page, followed by blind grading, adversarial audit, and build validation. Methodology v1.0.
Verdict No. 2309 · Search date 2026-08-05 · Methodology v1.0

Post-discharge transitional nursing,
does it really help with Reduced heart-failure-specific readmission within six months after discharge?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 56 · Safety acceptable
Nurse-led transitional care reduced heart-failure readmission, but programs and bias risks varied
No major direct harm signal was identified. Worsening symptoms and medication changes must be escalated to appropriate clinicians.
What the
research shows
The grade is C. A 2021 meta-analysis included 25 randomized trials and 8,422 participants. Ten trials found heart-failure-specific readmission within six months at RR 0.71 (95% CI 0.60 to 0.84), I-squared 0%, and NNT 15. Absolute readmission rates for the two arms were not reported in the original meta-analysis. Programs and usual care varied, and most trials had reporting problems in randomization, allocation concealment, and outcome-assessor masking, giving C with 56 points.
What the
ads claim
The pooled benefit cannot be assigned to home visits, telephone calls, education, or medication reconciliation alone. It is the average effect of different multicomponent and intensity programs.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The review included 25 trials and 8,422 participants, 22 individually randomized and three cluster randomized.
  • Heart-failure-specific readmission across ten trials was RR 0.71 with I-squared 0%.
  • All-cause readmission across 19 trials was RR 0.91 with I-squared 46%.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Candidate index · review held

UNK.nurse-led-hospital-to-home-transitional-care-bundles.UNK.heart-failure-specific-readmission-within-after-discharge.reduce.UNK

Unknown > Nurse-led hospital-to-home transitional-care bundles > Unknown > heart-failure-specific readmission within after discharge > Reduction claim > Unknown

An automated migration candidate, not an issued permanent code; exact claim scope remains under review. This machine-generated migration candidate helps retrieval but is not a permanent assignment. The original verdict ID and URL remain authoritative.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Gap Measurement · Verdict 2309 · C 56
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

Eligible programs began during the heart-failure admission or within one week and lasted up to six months. Components varied across needs assessment, discharge planning, education, counseling, medication reconciliation, follow-up booking, telephone monitoring, home visits, treatment adjustment, and extended follow-up. Usual-care descriptions also varied. Twenty-two trials randomized individuals and three randomized clusters. The methods prespecified cluster adjustment or sensitivity analysis when required, but no implemented adjustment estimate or cluster-exclusion sensitivity analysis was reported.

02

Why this is classified as C (56)

The pooled relative risk favored fewer heart-failure readmissions, but arm-specific absolute rates were unreported and direct replication and bias limitations remained, giving C with 56 points.

Counterpoint. Mortality was outside the 2021 utilization meta-analysis. A separate review found borderline lower three-to-six-month mortality for home-visiting programs, RR 0.77 (0.60 to 0.996), but that should not be generalized to every transitional-care bundle.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — Heart-failure-specific and all-cause readmission were separated; unreported arm-specific rates, differing individual-trial endpoints, and unreported cluster adjustment were retained

Stored scoring profile
EndpointHHard endpoint - actual events such as death
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE+Meets the clinically important threshold

Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (C).

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Reduced heart-failure-specific readmission within six monthsCTen trials found RR 0.71 and NNT 15; arm-specific absolute rates were not reported.
Reduced all-cause readmission within six monthsCNineteen trials found RR 0.91 with I-squared 46%, a smaller and heterogeneous effect.
Reduced emergency-department visitsDFive trials were null, RR 0.96 (0.84 to 1.10).

Cross-check — AI research and Codex final gate

AI was used for research and drafting. Blind grading, adversarial audit, and the methodology boundary rules were then reapplied before Codex performed the final evidence, grade, copy, and build checks. If a grade cannot be narrowed, both evidence positions and their reasons are published.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Li et al. 2021Meta-analysis of randomized trials of nurse-led transitional care25 trials and 8,422 participants; 10 trials for heart-failure-specific readmissionSichuan provincial and university funding for the review; varied trial fundersHeart-failure-specific and all-cause readmission within six monthsHeart failure RR 0.71 (0.60 to 0.84), I-squared 0%, NNT 15; all cause RR 0.91 (0.82 to 0.99), I-squared 46%, NNT 27Decisive pooled evidence
Naylor et al. 2004Individual randomized trial at six hospitals239 participants, 118 versus 121Public funding from the US National Institute of Nursing ResearchTime to first all-cause readmission and total readmissions through 52 weeks; death was censored104 versus 162 total readmissions; longer time to first readmission or death, P=0.026Individual trial with a different endpoint and follow-up period
Blue et al. 2001Individual randomized trial of specialist-nurse home follow-up165 participantsUK health-system and regional research supportTwelve-month composite of all-cause death or readmission for worsening heart failure, plus heart-failure admission countsDeath or heart-failure readmission 31 (37%) versus 45 (53%), HR 0.61 (0.33 to 0.96); heart-failure admissions 19 versus 45Individual trial with a different endpoint and follow-up period
§

Receipt — 3 References

All 3 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-05).

Li M, Li Y, Meng Q, et al. Effects of nurse-led transitional care interventions for patients with heart failure on healthcare utilization: a meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. PLoS One. 2021;16(12):e0261300. PMID: 34910786. DOI: 10.1371/journal.pone.0261300.
checked
Naylor MD, Brooten DA, Campbell RL, Maislin G, McCauley KM, Schwartz JS. Transitional care of older adults hospitalized with heart failure: a randomized, controlled trial. J Am Geriatr Soc. 2004;52(5):675-684. PMID: 15086645. DOI: 10.1111/j.1532-5415.2004.52202.x.
checked
Blue L, Lang E, McMurray JJV, et al. Randomised controlled trial of specialist nurse intervention in heart failure. BMJ. 2001;323(7315):715-718. PMID: 11576977. DOI: 10.1136/bmj.323.7315.715.
checked
Research and draft: AI used · Cross-check: blind grading and adversarial audit
Final verification and publication gate: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-08-05 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Post-discharge transitional nursing x heart-failure readmission Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] Post-discharge transitional nursing x heart-failure readmission — Evidence Grade C·56. 3 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/heart/nurse-led-transitional-care-heart-failure-readmission/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.