CHAMGAP
Verdict No. 3158 · Search date 2026-09-17 · Methodology v1.0

Biotin × carbamazepine: reverse-direction association with plasma biotin status

30-Second Summary
Unscored
Interaction report Unscored · Safety caution
ChatGPT source review and self-verification · Codex technical integration
Only the reverse-direction association of carbamazepine with plasma biotin is assessed. An adult 40-person monotherapy subgroup was described as lower than sodium-valproate recipients, but no direct oral-biotin add-on trial or exact contrast/CI was verified. Pediatric nonsignificant serum findings are not pooled, and no effect of biotin on drug AUC, seizures or toxicity is claimed.
Pair-specific supplementation safety and clinical harm remain unverified. Biotin interference with some susceptible assays is a separate risk, not a drug PK/PD effect. Missing reports and nonsignificance do not establish safety; research dose notations are not personal dosing, prescription-change or interruption instructions.
What the
research shows
Only the reverse-direction association of carbamazepine with plasma biotin is assessed. An adult 40-person monotherapy subgroup was described as lower than sodium-valproate recipients, but no direct oral-biotin add-on trial or exact contrast/CI was verified. Pediatric nonsignificant serum findings are not pooled, and no effect of biotin on drug AUC, seizures or toxicity is claimed.
What the
ads claim
Not evidence for advertising altered drug absorption/effectiveness or a need for supplementation.

Four separate assessment dimensions

Effect direction and sizeOnly the reverse-direction association of carbamazepine with plasma biotin is assessed. An adult 40-person monotherapy subgroup was described as lower than sodium-valproate recipients, but no direct oral-biotin add-on trial or exact contrast/CI was verified. Pediatric nonsignificant serum findings are not pooled, and no effect of biotin on drug AUC, seizures or toxicity is claimed.
Evidence certaintyA directional signal in older observational evidence, not an established causal effect or risk grade. Nonsignificant pediatric results with a different specimen limit generalization.
ApplicabilityRestricted to observational long-term anticonvulsant monotherapy in adults with epilepsy. Added sole oral-biotin coexposure was not directly verified.
SafetyPair-specific supplementation safety and clinical harm remain unverified. Biotin interference with some susceptible assays is a separate risk, not a drug PK/PD effect. Missing reports and nonsignificance do not establish safety; research dose notations are not personal dosing, prescription-change or interruption instructions.

Grade/score null under supplied common section 5, which excludes forcing efficacy scoring onto interactions. Original source and SHA were checked, but functions/CLI were not executed; output, errors, exit code and PASS are null. The current value is completed as a separate bounded narrative report.

*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • Biotin is the nutrient target; no specific product is recommended.
  • Actual sole oral-biotin formulation, molecular form, active dose and total intake were not verified.
  • The paper's200 mg carbamazepine notation is a dose-equivalence unit, not a verified daily dose.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Permanent code issued

S.biotin-status-under-carbamazepine.cbz-biotin-route-form-dose-unverified.adult-epilepsy-cbz-monotherapy.chronic-exam-plasma-biotin-nmol-l.valproate-monotherapy-context-separate

Supplements and nutraceuticals > Biotin–carbamazepine: drug-to-biotin status > Oral is intended; actual CBZ/additional-biotin route for the 40-person subgroup unverified > Adults with epilepsy on long-term CBZ as the sole anticonvulsant; nutritional adequacy/deficiency unverified > Plasma biotin concentration(nmol/L) during long-term treatment; exact time unreported > Primary VPA monotherapy; pooled 404-versus 112 reference comparison is context only and kept separate

Original ungraded interaction, reverse plasma-marker scope, four nonexecution receipts, 51 uncertainties and full bilingual reports preserved without clinical recalculation. The code identifies the intervention and claim; it never contains the evidence grade, score, or safety result.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Exact Claim Classification

These independent facets prevent evidence from different forms, routes, populations, effects, and comparators from being mixed.

Intervention classS · Supplement or nutraceutical
Canonical ingredient or interventionBiotin
Source or part usedNutrient target; actual supplement source/molecular form unverified
Formulation or processingSole oral biotin is intended; added product/formulation/purity unverified in the core observation
RouteOral is intended; actual CBZ/additional-biotin route for the 40-person subgroup unverified
DoseUnverified; the CBZ200 mg equivalence unit is not an actual prescription
DurationExamination during long-term treatment; exact exposure duration/sampling time null
PopulationAdults with epilepsy on long-term CBZ as the sole anticonvulsant; nutritional adequacy/deficiency unverified
Effect or conditionReverse-direction carbamazepine-to-biotin-status association
Primary endpointPlasma biotin concentration(nmol/L) during long-term treatment; exact time unreported
ComparatorPrimary VPA monotherapy; pooled 404-versus 112 reference comparison is context only and kept separate
Duplicate-detection keybiotin|carbamazepine_to_biotin_status|adult_epilepsy_monotherapy|plasma_biotin_nmol_L|chronic_exam_exact_time_unknown|valproate_comparator|oral_addon_unverified
01

What the research actually shows

# Biotin × carbamazepine: the reverse-direction association with plasma biotin status

**TASK-1042 / R01-082 · Separate interaction report · Input evidence cutoff: 2026-09-17T19:21:55+09:00 · Self-review date: 2026-09-17**

## 1. Thirty-second answer

The selected pair is **biotin–carbamazepine**, the direction is **carbamazepine exposure → biotin status**, and the primary endpoint is **plasma biotin concentration (nmol/L) at an examination during long-term treatment**. An older adult epilepsy observational report describes lower plasma biotin in 40 carbamazepine-monotherapy recipients than in sodium-valproate-monotherapy recipients. This is not a trial adding sole oral biotin, and it does not establish an exact carbamazepine-specific effect, confidence interval or time course.[S01]

**No conclusion is made that biotin supplementation changes carbamazepine AUC, seizure control, effectiveness or toxicity.** A separate pediatric serum study reported no significant biotin differences. Its findings were not pooled with adult plasma data, and nonsignificance was not relabeled equivalence or absence of interaction.[S03] The current conclusion is a limited reverse-direction biochemical association signal, not an established clinical harm rate or indication for supplementation.

**Assessment: grade null · score null · `not_applicable_or_policy_missing`.** The supplied rule excludes forced efficacy A–F grading of interaction questions. This is a separate report with manuscript status `ready_with_uncertainty`, content verification `completed_with_declared_scope`, and publication integration `needs_format_mapping` with no assigned ID. Document quality A is a same-model self-assessment, not an efficacy grade or external certification.[P01][P02]

## 2. Research question versus the observed evidence

| Boundary | Selection and verified scope | |---|---| | One pair | Biotin–carbamazepine. Other drugs are comparators or exclusion boundaries. | | One direction | Medication-to-nutrient status, separate from nutrient-to-drug PK/PD. | | One primary endpoint | Plasma biotin concentration in nmol/L. Urinary metabolites, serum biotinidase, seizures, alopecia and assay errors are not merged. | | Intended route/composition | Sole oral biotin coadministration is the intended question. The core study did not test added biotin. | | Actual core population | Adult epilepsy subgroup on long-term carbamazepine as the sole anticonvulsant. Overall age range and subgroup characteristics remain distinct. | | Primary comparison | The reported direction relative to sodium valproate monotherapy in the same paper. This is not a randomized counterfactual comparison without carbamazepine. | | Contextual comparison | The pooled anticonvulsant cohort versus a reference group provides context only. The 404-person mean is not substituted for the effect in 40 carbamazepine recipients. | | Actual time | Examination during long-term therapy. Exact subgroup treatment months and time after the last dose are null. | | Direct coadministration evidence | No verified quantitative comparison satisfied added sole oral biotin, defined carbamazepine exposure and an appropriate matched-background comparator in this search/access scope. This is not a claim that human evidence is nonexistent. |

The narrow observational boundary was selected because an original adult monotherapy report was accessible and it is distinct from existing efficacy and TSH-interference pages. **Unreported route, supplement dose and steady state were not inferred to fill the planned question.** This report is an initial, bounded account of reverse-direction evidence and the directness gap, not a definitive interaction-risk table for oral supplementation.[S01][P01]

## 3. Duplicate boundaries and reuse

The supplied 3157-entry index and all 12 complete biotin candidates were compared. No exactly identical completed claim was identified. Existing extractions, search maps, safety information and assay-interference boundaries were reused without re-researching, regrading or retranslating those completed efficacy claims or inheriting their grades.[P03]

| Existing ID | Completed boundary | |---|---| | 009 | Biotin; hair loss/hair growth | | 866 | Biotin; brittle-nail thickness/strength | | 1639 | High-dose MD1003; progressive-MS disability/walking | | 3103 | Sole oral biotin; adult AGA non-vellus density | | 3104 | Sole oral biotin; brittle-nail breakage events | | 3105 | Sole added oral biotin; type-2-diabetes HbA1c | | 3106 | Oral biotin; falsely low serum-TSH assay bias | | 3153 | Oral biotin; atopic-dermatitis severity | | 3154 | Oral biotin; diabetic peripheral-neuropathy pain | | 3155 | Oral biotin; confirmed-MCI cognition scales | | 3156 | Sole oral biotin; fasting triglycerides | | 3157 | Sole oral biotin; progressive-MS 12-month MFIS |

Only the supplied index entries were available for adjacent carbamazepine/valproate/divalproex IDs 1225/1255/988. Their complete originals were not supplied and were not claimed read. Their indexed outcomes concern seizure remission or mania rather than this biotin-marker comparison. General anticonvulsant cautions or assay-interference statements in existing manuscripts are not equivalent to a completed independent pair-specific claim.

Tasks77–78 are closed-chat history. Only 79, 80, 81 were completed in this chat before this task; completing82 makes4/5 content-complete. Historical manifests retain their original unassigned-ID and predeployment states. Earlier Korean-report aliases, original member names, supplied deployment/display receipts and the recent71–80 technical audit remain byte-unchanged. This report did not newly measure any prior server state.

## 4. Original evidence and numerical boundaries

### Core adult evidence [S01]

The 1985 paper examined404 adults receiving long-term anticonvulsants and 112 reference participants, including40 carbamazepine and 21 sodium-valproate monotherapy recipients. Plasma biotin was measured with a *Lactobacillus plantarum* microbiological assay. Fig 5 shows monotherapy distributions and means, but no exact printed CBZ mean, dispersion or formal effect coefficient was verified. The actual PDF figure was inspected; visual effect estimates and confidence intervals were not fabricated.[S01]

| Number or design item | Verified value and restriction | |---|---| | Overall adult age | 20–40 years; exact mean age and sex distribution in the 40-person CBZ subgroup remain unverified. | | Reference composition |24 staff volunteers+40 blood donors+48 dermatology patients=112. They are not all healthy randomized controls. | | Pooled context | Plasma biotin mean(SD)0.90(0.29) versus 1.63(0.49)nmol/L; P<0.0005. **These are mixed-anticonvulsant cohort values, not the CBZ effect.** | | CBZ comparison | Authors describe lower values than with sodium valproate; exact difference, ratio, CI and individual P value are null. | |200 mg notation | A dose-equivalence conversion unit, not a verified daily prescription or biotin study dose. | | Three before/after observations | Phenytoin or primidone initiation, not a repeated CBZ time series. | | Urinary organic-acid subset | A different endpoint; combination CBZ exposure is not reclassified as monotherapy. | | Support | Partial DFG Kr659/1 support and a vitamin-company-affiliated author; complete funding, supply and independence remain unverified. |

The core report is not a randomized coadministration PK trial with a defined supplement, common diet and standardized sampling window. Treatment selection, epilepsy features, diet/intake, other medication, age and kidney function could influence marker differences. The presence of regression or analysis of variance does not establish a confounder-adjusted causal estimate for this pair. A lower biomarker is not the same as symptomatic deficiency, seizure worsening, drug failure or benefit from prescribing biotin.

### Opposing, indirect and access-limited evidence

| Source | Actually verified | Use in this assessment | |---|---|---| | S02, 1982 | Abstract reports plasma biotin≤250 ng/L in 74% of 264 anticonvulsant-treated people. | A pooled cross-sectional proportion, not CBZ-specific incidence. Potential overlap with 1985 prevents summing people or independent cohorts. | | S03, 2011 |10 CBZ-treated children, 20 valproate-treated children and 75 age/sex-matched healthy controls; no significant serum-biotin or biotinidase differences reported. | Countercontext against extending the adult plasma signal to every age. No exact means/CI or equivalence conclusion; full text inaccessible. | | S04, 1998 |13 treated children:7 CBZ and/or phenytoin, 6phenobarbital;16 controls. Urinary biotin/metabolite and organic-acid indicators were partly discordant. | Different specimen, age and mixed exposure; not independent replication of a CBZ-only adult plasma effect. | | S05, 1997 | Adult anticonvulsant/biotin-catabolism bibliographic identity located; direct content retrieval failed. | Human-study existence is distinct from quantitative extraction. No sample size or effect invented. | | S06, 1989 | Intestinal biotin transport/anticonvulsant bibliographic and search lead; direct abstract/full text inaccessible. | Mechanistic lead, not verified clinical coadministration evidence. No inhibition constant or human AUC adopted. |

The biotin-treated alopecia observation in the 2011 abstract concerns **valproate, a different pair and clinical endpoint**. Its response was not transferred to CBZ-related biotin status or seizure outcomes. The publisher's “Review article” label and the abstract's original measurements were both recorded; inaccessible full methods were not converted into a randomized-trial classification.[S03]

## 5. Molecular form, route, nutrition and actual exposure

In the core observations, biotin is the measured nutrient, not a verified sole oral product with a dose and manufacturer. Manufacturing source, stereoisomer/salt, active content, purity, formulation, excipients, added dose and total intake are therefore unverified separately. “Monotherapy” was read as one **anticonvulsant**, not absence of every other active medicine or supplement.

Only confirmed details are retained for CBZ product, salt, release formulation, prescribed dose, interval, route and exact subgroup duration. Long-term treatment does not by itself establish steady state at a particular dose, normal kidney function, nutritional adequacy or achieved adherence. Planned oral-product conditions remain null when not verified in actual coadministration evidence.

## 6. Pharmacokinetics, clinical harm and measurement error are separate

**Pharmacokinetics:** a biotin value or one anticonvulsant concentration is not carbamazepine AUC. No eligible comparison was verified with total/free drug specification, AUC0–t/AUC0–∞/steady-state AUCτ, Cmax, geometric mean ratio and CI, Tmax, half-life, clearance, drug assay, sampling schedule, washout and sequence effects. No PK effect was calculated.

**Clinical harm:** defined counts, denominators, time windows, comparator risks and rechallenge observations for seizure worsening, toxicity, hospitalization or treatment failure were unavailable. No absolute/relative risk, number needed to harm, numerical interaction severity or causality probability was fabricated. A biochemical marker and an actual clinical event remain different outcomes.

**Measurement:** the S01 microbiological assay is not the S04 HPLC/avidin and organic-acid methods. Modern free/total-biotin distinction and metabolite-specific validation were not fully established. The historical assay was not equated automatically with modern biotin–streptavidin immunoassay interference, and complete freedom from interference was not certified. S01 describes gas chromatography or enzyme immunoassay for drug concentrations without assigning every detailed method to every drug, so this information was not promoted to a precise PK analysis.[S01][S04]

## 7. Safety label and action boundaries

**Safety label: Caution.** This does not grade the pair as a proven severe clinical hazard. The long-term and special-population safety of adding biotin during CBZ treatment was not established. Separately, biotin can produce misleading results in some susceptible assays. The FDA warning about falsely low results in some troponin assays and existing ID 3106 on TSH interference remain distinct from an in-vivo drug–nutrient interaction.[S07][S08]

Unreported adverse events, nonsignificant comparisons and normal biochemical values do not establish safety. Pregnancy, lactation, pediatric and liver/kidney disease results were not inferred from adults. Other-drug doses or biotin-treated case observations are not instructions for personal supplementation, timing, prescription change, discontinuation or replacement of standard care. Medication/supplement exposure and planned testing are matters to discuss with the treating team and laboratory; this report specifies no individualized interruption interval or initiation regimen.

## 8. Supplied-rule applicability and original-calculator receipts

Section5 of the supplied common rules explicitly prohibits forcing efficacy A–F onto safety, interaction or assay-interference questions. The efficacy axes and fixed anchors are not a validated interaction-risk scale for this reverse-direction nutrient-marker association. No suitable separate numerical rule was supplied. **Grade, score and risk grade are all null**, and the current format is `bounded_narrative_interaction_report`.[P01][P02]

The complete original calculator and rule text were read and their SHA values compared before/after. **No efficacy-calculator function or CLI was executed.** A genuine applicability review was completed, not a calculator PASS, zero-error run or exit-code0. Input, execution, raw-output and final-adoption receipts preserve function output, CLI and error lists as null. Here null means nonexecution/nonapplicability, not successful execution without errors.

| Axis | Current disposition | |---|---| | Claim type | Medication-to-nutrient-marker association; no forced efficacy A/B/C code. | | Endpoint | Plasma nutrient concentration; not reversed into clinical treatment success/failure. | | Replication | Potentially overlapping historical reports and pediatric different-specimen data are not fabricated independent replications. | | Independence | Partial funding and affiliation are known; no invented complete independence code. | | Effect | Exact contrast magnitude null. Legacy E0/E+ codes are not adopted for this claim. | | Precision | Formal CI and clinical threshold null; no invented validated MCID. | | Bias | Observational comparison, control composition, nutritional/disease confounding, measurement and missingness are discussed without filling unverified B codes. |

`no_human_study=false` reflects actual related human evidence. Lack of a verified direct oral-biotin coadministration comparison is not absence of all human studies. Neither tasks 77–79 policy gaps nor the prior C/54 nor the prior D/28 was inherited. No failed raw grade, numerical anchor or zero score was adopted.

## 9. Access scope and pre-submission self-review

The same model checked source attribution, numbers, direction, denominators, overlap, funding, safety and bilingual correspondence. Actual tables/figures in the 1985 PDF were distinguished from the accessible 1982/1998/2011 abstracts. Unreadable 1997/1989 primary content remained bibliographic leads. Search responses that returned a homepage or irrelevant content despite an article-like title were not counted as original-paper access. Native-registry page errors and DNS failures of Python Europe PMC requests were preserved as failures.

A complete native Embase, Cochrane, WHO ICTRP, registry-history or manufacturer adverse-event database search was not performed. No specific correction/retraction notice was confirmed on accessible primary pages or in targeted searches; this does not certify their absence. Exact recorded queries, source locations, retrieval failures and numerical restrictions are in the search log, source records and verification report.

Pre-submission review confirmed that pooled 404-person values were not attributed to CBZ, distinguished the 200 mg equivalence unit from a prescription, and included the pediatric nonsignificant finding and full-text limitation. Public corrections begin as an empty array; these changes are recorded in a separate **pre-submission audit**. Same-model self-review, bilingual copies, repository copies of one paper and technical tests are not independent clinical replication, independent external audit, journal certification or an error-free guarantee.

## 10. Complete unresolved and nonapplicable fields

The following nulls retain different information states: unreported, inaccessible, unconfirmed within the search and nonapplicable. Every machine-readable entry in research/unresolved.json contains both-language reasons.

| Field | Status | Value and reason | |---|---|---| | `sole_oral_biotin_cotreatment` | `not_confirmed_within_search` | null — No controlled comparison adding sole oral biotin to carbamazepine was verified. | | `biotin_molecular_form` | `not_reported` | null — The molecular form, stereoisomer or salt of a coadministered biotin product is not reported. | | `biotin_source` | `not_reported` | null — Actual manufacturing source and raw material are not reported. | | `biotin_formulation` | `not_reported` | null — Tablet/capsule form, excipients, purity and batch are unverified. | | `biotin_active_dose` | `not_reported` | null — Actual added active dose and dosing frequency for this pair are unverified. | | `total_biotin_intake` | `not_reported` | null — Total dietary and supplemental intake is not reported. | | `baseline_deficiency` | `not_reported` | null — Pretreatment deficiency diagnosis or adequacy was not established. | | `diet_and_alcohol` | `not_reported` | null — Subgroup diet, alcohol exposure and intake control are unverified. | | `cbz_salt_and_product` | `not_reported` | null — Exact salt, product, manufacturer and batch are unverified. | | `cbz_release_form` | `not_reported` | null — Immediate/extended release and dosage form were not verified. | | `cbz_route` | `not_reported` | null — The route for the 40-person subgroup was not explicitly verified and was not automatically filled as oral. | | `cbz_daily_dose` | `not_reported` | null — 200 mg is an equivalence conversion unit, not an actual daily prescription. | | `cbz_duration` | `not_reported` | null — Treatment is described as long-term; exact duration for the 40-person subgroup is not reported. | | `coadministration_timing` | `not_reported` | null — The interval between biotin and drug dosing is unverified. | | `steady_state_verified` | `not_reported` | null — Long-term use alone does not verify steady state at a defined dose. | | `achieved_adherence` | `not_reported` | null — Achieved adherence and missed doses are not reported. | | `other_medicines` | `not_reported` | null — Anticonvulsant monotherapy does not establish absence of all other medicines. | | `common_management` | `not_reported` | null — Comparable nutritional and other common management was not established. | | `renal_function` | `not_reported` | null — Renal function and excretion-related subgroup data are not reported. | | `hepatic_function` | `not_reported` | null — Liver-function subgroup data are not reported. | | `cbz_subgroup_sex_age` | `not_reported` | null — Overall adult age range is available; sex and precise age distribution for the 40-person subgroup are unverified. | | `cbz_subgroup_epilepsy` | `not_reported` | null — CBZ-subgroup epilepsy types, severity and baseline seizure burden are unverified. | | `sampling_time` | `not_reported` | null — Postdose/postmeal sampling time and fasting condition are not reported. | | `plasma_cbz_group_mean` | `not_reported` | null — Fig 5 displays a mean but not an exact printed number; visual approximation was not promoted to a source value. | | `plasma_cbz_sd` | `not_reported` | null — Exact CBZ-subgroup SD or SE was not verified. | | `cbz_vs_reference_effect` | `not_reported` | null — The pooled 404-person difference is not the effect for 40 CBZ recipients and was not substituted. | | `cbz_vs_valproate_effect` | `not_reported` | null — The reported direction was verified; an exact mean difference or ratio was not. | | `cbz_specific_p_value` | `not_reported` | null — The exact pair-specific P value is unverified. | | `adjusted_effect` | `not_reported` | null — A confounder-adjusted CBZ-specific effect coefficient was not verified. | | `confidence_interval` | `not_reported` | null — A formal CBZ-specific between-group CI is unverified. | | `baseline_final_change` | `not_reported` | null — The 40 CBZ participants do not supply paired pretreatment-to-follow-up changes. | | `endpoint_analysis_n` | `not_reported` | null — Forty is the reported exposure-subgroup size; missing specimens and a separate endpoint-valid denominator are unverified. | | `missing_data_handling` | `not_reported` | null — Attrition and missing-data handling are unverified. | | `assay_specificity` | `not_reported` | null — Modern free/total-biotin distinction and metabolite cross-reactivity validation are unverified. | | `drug_assay_assignment` | `not_reported` | null — The specific CBZ assay among gas chromatography or enzyme immunoassay is not assigned in accessible details. | | `assay_interference_exclusion` | `not_reported` | null — Complete interference experiments for nutrient and drug assays are unavailable; measurement error is not certified absent. | | `registration_primary_endpoint` | `not_reported` | null — Prospective registration, original primary endpoint and analysis-plan history were not verified. | | `multiplicity_adjustment` | `not_reported` | null — Complete multiplicity adjustment is unverified. | | `cohort_overlap_count` | `not_reported` | null — The exact overlap between the 1982 and 1985 reports is not reported. | | `complete_funding_and_supply` | `not_reported` | null — Partial public funding and a company-affiliated author are known; complete support and product supply are unverified. | | `cbz_specific_adverse_event_risk` | `not_reported` | null — Defined event counts, denominators, exposure window and comparator risk for this pair are unavailable. | | `dechallenge_rechallenge` | `not_reported` | null — Clinical dechallenge/rechallenge evidence for this pair was not verified. | | `pregnancy_lactation` | `not_reported` | null — Direct coadministration safety in pregnancy or lactation was not verified. | | `longterm_supplement_safety` | `not_reported` | null — Pair-specific long-term safety of biotin supplementation was not verified. | | `pediatric_fulltext` | `inaccessible` | null — The 2011 full text was inaccessible; dose, duration, dispersion and funding were not filled. | | `complete_registry_search` | `inaccessible` | null — A complete native-registry search result and history export were not obtained. | | `auc_type_unit_ratio_ci` | `not_applicable` | null — The selected endpoint is not drug AUC and no eligible PK comparison was verified; type, units, geometric ratio and CI are not calculated. | | `cmax_tmax_half_life_clearance` | `not_applicable` | null — Drug Cmax, Tmax, half-life and clearance are not inferred from the selected plasma-biotin observations. | | `crossover_washout_pairing` | `not_applicable` | null — The core data are not a crossover dosing trial; washout, sequence effects and paired PK are not fabricated. | | `mcid_or_response_criterion` | `not_applicable` | null — A biotin-marker association is not converted to efficacy-MCID or clinical-response attainment. | | `efficacy_grade_score` | `not_applicable` | null — The interaction is outside the supplied efficacy formula, and no suitable separate numerical rule was supplied. |

## 11. Completed current value and revision conditions

This single task is `completed_with_uncertainty`, with completed content and `clinical_todo=[]`. The technical recipient may map the **ungraded interaction presentation, full text, sources and unresolved fields** and assign an ID; clinical judgment and calculator rerunning are not delegated. reports/TASK-1042.json is the canonical separate report. verdicts/TASK-1042.json is the requested compatibility copy, not permission for efficacy auto-publication. The two JSON files have identical content and are not two completed claims.

A verified direct coadministration trial, exact original data, newly accessible methods, correction/retraction, assay validation or suitable interaction rule may trigger a traceable revision under preserved identifiers. Current new ID, site_id, slug, URL, semantic code and first-publication time are all null. The representative listing tag links to the existing controlled biotin entity. No server access, deployment, new chat, subagent or task 83 was performed.

## Original sources and supplied rules

[S01]: https://epub.ub.uni-muenchen.de/7298/1/krause_klaus-henning_7298.pdf "Biotin status of epileptics" [S02]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/7181453/ "Impaired biotin status in anticonvulsant therapy" [S03]: https://journals.sagepub.com/doi/10.1177/0883073811409227 "The influence of valproic acid and carbamazepine treatment on serum biotin and zinc levels and on biotinidase activity" [S04]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/9523856/ "Disturbances in biotin metabolism in children undergoing long-term anticonvulsant therapy" [S05]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/9371938/ "Biotin catabolism is accelerated in adults receiving long-term therapy with anticonvulsants" [S06]: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/2911998/ "Biotin transport in the human intestine: inhibition by anticonvulsant drugs" [S07]: https://ods.od.nih.gov/factsheets/Biotin-HealthProfessional/ "Biotin: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals" [S08]: https://www.fda.gov/medical-devices/in-vitro-diagnostics/biotin-interference-troponin-lab-tests-assays-subject-biotin-interference "Biotin Interference with Troponin Lab Tests – Assays Subject to Biotin Interference" [S09]: https://lpi.oregonstate.edu/mic/vitamins/biotin "Biotin, Micronutrient Information Center" [P01]: reference/input/전달_프롬프트.md "Supplied common rules and final82 contract" [P02]: reference/input/참고자료/채점표.md "Supplied score sheet" [P03]: provenance/duplicate_boundary.json "Exact input-index and original-candidate comparison"

02

Why this is classified as Unscored

Grade/score null under supplied common section 5, which excludes forcing efficacy scoring onto interactions. Original source and SHA were checked, but functions/CLI were not executed; output, errors, exit code and PASS are null. The current value is completed as a separate bounded narrative report.

Counterpoint. The nonsignificant pediatric serum result in 10 CBZ recipients is retained without pooling it with adult plasma.

Rejudgment record. Grade/score null under supplied common section 5, which excludes forcing efficacy scoring onto interactions. Original source and SHA were checked, but functions/CLI were not executed; output, errors, exit code and PASS are null. The current value is completed as a separate bounded narrative report.

Efficacy-rule exclusion · original axis explanations
Claim typenullDescribe a reverse-direction drug–nutrient marker association rather than assigning efficacy A/B/C. Formal efficacy axes remain null because the original formula was not extended.
EndpointnullPlasma biotin in nmol/L, not clinical events or drug AUC. A valproate comparator is not a second completed drug-pair claim.
ReplicationnullPotential 1982/1985 overlap is unresolved; pediatric serum/urine data are not independent adult-plasma replications.
IndependencenullPartial public funding and a company affiliation are known; complete funding/supply and an independence code are null.
Effect sizenullLegacy E0/E+ and prior C/54 or D/28 were not adopted. Exact effect size is null; a lower biomarker is not recast as clinical efficacy or harm.
PrecisionnullExact CBZ-specific CI, validated MCID and response criteria are null. Nonsignificance is not equivalence or absence of interaction.
Risk of biasnullObservational design, comparator differences and unverified diet/medication/disease/missingness/measurement are discussed without inventing B0/B1/B2.

Review performed and remaining limitations

This completed manuscript was self-reviewed by the same model for original sources, numbers, direction, duplicate boundaries, rule applicability, safety and both full languages. It is not independent external review, journal certification or an error-free guarantee. Translations, copies of one paper and technical tests are not independent clinical replication.

A direct trial adding sole oral biotin, exact CBZ-specific effect/CI/timing/dose/route, diet/total intake, deficiency, kidney function, adherence, complete funding/independence, clinical-event risk and some original content/registry history remain unverified. All 51 null fields retain differentiated information states and bilingual reasons.

03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
S01: Krause et al.1985, PMID3925859.Observational adult long-term anticonvulsant-monotherapy subgroup; not a biotin add-on trial.Overall404, CBZ40, VPA21, reference112; endpoint-valid/missing denominator unverified.Partial DFG Kr659/1, company-affiliated author; full funding/supply unverified.Plasma biotin(nmol/L) during chronic therapy, microbiological assay; exact time null.Described as lower than VPA; exact CBZ contrast/CI null. Pooled404 values are not substituted.Core reverse-direction association, not randomized causality or a clinical-risk grade.
S02: Krause et al.1982, PMID7181453.Mixed-anticonvulsant observation; abstract access.Overall264; CBZ-specific denominator unverified.Indexed non-US research support; complete details unverified.Proportion with low plasma biotin, not prospective incidence.Pooled74%≤250ng/L; not adopted as the CBZ effect.Possible overlap with1985; no participant or independent-replication summation.
S03: Castro-Gago et al.2011, PMID21642615.Abstract describes pediatric comparisons; restricted full text, not a randomized trial.CBZ10, VPA20,75age/sex-matched healthy controls.Unverified; affiliation alone does not establish independence.Serum biotin, separate from adult plasma.No significant difference; exact means/CI/P null, not equivalence.Opposing age/specimen context; other-drug alopecia responses excluded.
S04: Mock et al.1998, PMID9523856.Pediatric long-term exposure and urinary markers; abstract access.13treated(CBZ/PHT7, PB6),16controls.Indexed NIH R01DK36823; complete COI unverified.Urinary biotin/metabolites and organic acids are distinct markers.Partly discordant indicators, not CBZ-only plasma values.Measurement/population boundary, not adult clinical replication.
S05/S06: PMID9371938/2911998.Bibliographic leads for adult catabolism/intestinal transport; original content inaccessible.null — not verified in original content.null — not directly verified.Catabolism/transport leads are not equated with the main plasma endpoint.Quantitative values null; search snippets do not substitute for original-study verification.Distinguishes related-study existence and access failure; no no-human conclusion.
§

Receipt — 9 References

Evidence access cutoff: 2026-09-17. Each citation states its actual access level (full-text transcription, abstract, index, or other) and remaining limitations. Bibliographic checking does not certify the study results or treatment efficacy.

Biotin status of epileptics
checked
Impaired biotin status in anticonvulsant therapy
checked
The influence of valproic acid and carbamazepine treatment on serum biotin and zinc levels and on biotinidase activity
checked
Disturbances in biotin metabolism in children undergoing long-term anticonvulsant therapy
checked
Biotin catabolism is accelerated in adults receiving long-term therapy with anticonvulsants
checked
Biotin transport in the human intestine: inhibition by anticonvulsant drugs
checked
Biotin: Fact Sheet for Health Professionals
checked
Biotin Interference with Troponin Lab Tests – Assays Subject to Biotin Interference
checked
Biotin, Micronutrient Information Center
checked
The review covered all 63 input files and JSON structures, the 3157-entry index, 12 complete biotin originals, original handoffs/deployment receipts77–81, Korean aliases77–78, the 80 display receipt and the recent71–80 audit. It checked public gap searches, the 1985 PDF/figures/tables, accessible abstracts, official safety material and rule exclusion. No efficacy-calculator function/CLI, server/deployment work, new chat, subagent, task 83 or independent external review was performed.
Technical integration by: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-09-17 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Biotin × carbamazepine: reverse-direction association with plasma biotin status Evidence Grade Unscored card
[Chamgap] Biotin × carbamazepine: reverse-direction association with plasma biotin status — Evidence Grade Unscored. 9 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/general/biotin-carbamazepine-reverse-plasma-biotin-status/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.