CHAMGAP
APPROVEDReviewed and approved by the Chamgap Editorial Team (2026-08-07). The draft was written by AI, the existence of all 2 cited sources was verified at the original page, and the verdict passed blind grading and adversarial audit. Methodology v0.7.
Verdict No. 2380 · Search date 2026-08-07 · Methodology v0.7

Soleus push-up,
does it really help with Reduced three-hour postprandial glucose excursion?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 54 · Safety acceptable
The acute glucose effect was large but came from a three-hour surrogate experiment in 15 people
The study reported no cramps, joint pain, muscle soreness, or other serious adverse response. Stop for pain, cramping, or swelling, and seek advice if balance problems or glucose-lowering medication create additional risk.
What the
research shows
The grade is C with 54 points. In a within-participant repeated-measures physiology experiment of 15 adults, sustaining soleus push-ups during a three-hour 75-g oral glucose tolerance test reduced glucose area under the curve by about 39% to 52% versus sitting inactive. Absolute values by condition were not reported; only relative reductions were reported. Postprandial glucose is a surrogate, and no long-term diabetes or complication outcome was measured.
What the
ads claim
The movement became widely circulated online in Korea, but an unsupervised calf raise without the study's EMG and oxygen-consumption targeting is not guaranteed to reproduce the stimulus. The study measured three hours after a glucose load, not prevention of diabetes.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The tested movement used bent-knee seated plantarflexion without external resistance, with EMG and oxygen-consumption feedback to target soleus activation.
  • This was a within-participant repeated-measures experiment; the article described randomization only for the SPU1 and SPU2 order, and the washout duration was not reported.
  • Absolute glucose area-under-the-curve values by condition were not reported; only relative reductions of about 39% and 52% were reported.
  • Verdict 1436 is C with 54 points for postmeal walking. Walking is whole-body weight-bearing activity, whereas this intervention selectively sustained soleus activity while seated.
  • The reported 50 plus or minus 6 mg/dL value is mean plus or minus standard error, not standard deviation.
Gap Measurement · Verdict 2380 · C 54
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

Hamilton et al. enrolled 25 people across two sequential experiments; experiment II assessed glucose in 15 adults, seven men and eight women aged 22 to 82. Diagnosed diabetes was excluded, but fasting glucose ranged from 91 to 115 mg/dL, HbA1c from 4.9% to 6.1%, and three participants had long-term metformin use. After a 12- to 14-hour fast, participants completed a 75-g OGTT while sitting inactive or sustaining soleus push-ups for three hours. The lower condition averaged 1.31 MET and 0.60 kcal/min activity expenditure; the higher averaged 1.69 MET and 1.12 kcal/min. The knee was bent with the metatarsophalangeal joint below the knee, the foot stayed on the floor, no external resistance was added, and EMG plus oxygen-consumption feedback individualized intensity. This was a within-participant repeated-measures experiment, and the article described randomization only for SPU1 and SPU2 order. It did not report a washout duration or interval between test days. Glucose iAUC fell about 39% at lower intensity and 52% at higher intensity. Absolute area-under-the-curve values by condition were not reported; only relative reductions were reported. Both effects had Cohen d above 2. The largest sustained 60-minute glucose difference was 50 plus or minus 6 mg/dL at higher intensity, reported as mean plus or minus standard error. The article did not report between-condition 95% confidence intervals for iAUC. No long-term glycemia, incident diabetes, or complications were measured.

02

Why this is classified as C (54)

A large acute within-participant repeated-measures effect is limited by a surrogate endpoint, 15 participants, and three hours of observation, giving C with 54 points. Randomization was confirmed only for SPU1 and SPU2 order.

Counterpoint. Acute lowering of postprandial glucose is not the same as long-term diabetes prevention.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — A 15-person within-participant repeated-measures physiology experiment found a large postprandial glucose iAUC reduction; randomization was confirmed only for SPU1 and SPU2 order, and evidence is surrogate-only, acute, and small

Scoring profile behind this grade
EndpointSSurrogate marker - laboratory or imaging measures
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE+Meets the clinically important threshold

The scoring table and the verdict agree (C).

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Reduced three-hour postprandial glucose iAUCCThe effect was large but surrogate-only, acute, and based on 15 participants.
Prevention of diabetes?No long-term human study measured incident diabetes.

Cross-check — Codex and Claude

This verdict was drafted by Codex through literature review and source-existence checks, cross-checked through blind grading and adversarial audit, and settled by reapplying the methodology boundary rules. Cases with split grades were resolved through rejudgment.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Study 1Within-participant repeated-measures physiology experiment; only SPU1 and SPU2 order randomized10American Diabetes Association grant 1-15-TS-14Glucose iAUC over 0 to 180 minutes of a 75-g OGTTAbsolute glucose area-under-the-curve values by condition were not reported; only relative reductions of approximately 39% at lower intensity and 52% at higher intensity were reported; both effect sizes d above 2.0; iAUC 95% CIs not reportedPivotal acute surrogate evidence
Study 2Fixed-order self-controlled pilot10Hungarian NKFIH and university supportTwo-hour OGTT glucose excursionApproximately 32% lower than sedentary baseline; five participants per feedback groupNot counted as direct replication because population and sequence differed
§

Receipt — 2 References

All 2 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-07).

Hamilton MT, Hamilton DG, Zderic TW. A potent physiological method to magnify and sustain soleus oxidative metabolism improves glucose and lipid regulation. iScience. 2022;25:104869. PMID: 36034224. PMCID: PMC9404652. DOI: 10.1016/j.isci.2022.104869.
checked
Elek D, et al. The Efficacy of Soleus Push-Up in Individuals with Prediabetes: A Pilot Study. Sports. 2025;13(3):81. PMID: 40137805. PMCID: PMC11946342. DOI: 10.3390/sports13030081.
checked
Draft and rewrite: Codex (AI) · Verification: Codex blind grading and adversarial audit · Final adjudication: Claude
Reviewed and approved: Chamgap Editorial Team · Approval date: 2026-08-07 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Soleus push-up x postprandial glucose Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] Soleus push-up x postprandial glucose — Evidence Grade C·54. 2 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/blood-sugar/soleus-pushup-postprandial-glucose/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.