Vitamin C × systemic inflammatory markers: eight-week findings in metabolic adults with elevated hs-CRP
research showsIn one small trial of adults with obesity, hypertension/type 2 diabetes and elevated hs-CRP, completers receiving oral C 1000 mg/day for eight weeks had a final hs-CRP mean 4.07 mg/L below the no-supplement group. The study lacked placebo/masking and used completers; findings in other populations are inconsistent. Current efficacy C50 rates this narrow biomarker signal, not clinical anti-inflammatory treatment, symptom improvement, cardiovascular prevention or drug replacement. [S1–S5]
ads claimAdvertising claims were not systematically collected, so what_ads is null. This does not mean no advertising exists; reported trial-product facts are listed separately as sentences.
Seven original content assessments
- Directness — High-hs-CRP metabolic eligibility was checked; the proposed placebo was replaced with the actual no-supplement comparator.
- Denominators/design — 36/36 allocated,31/33 completed,21 unexplained eligible nonrandomized people and the three-arm family’s shared control were distinguished.
- Numbers/arithmetic — Original-scale means/SDs, final and change contrasts, published P, calculated approximate CI and standardization formulas have separate receipts.
- Bias/registration — Completer analysis, small size, short follow-up and unverified registered hierarchy/multiplicity were incorporated.
- Counterevidence/families — S2 overall null, S3 within/between P and scale conflict, S4 combination null and S5 dialysis were retained without pooling.
- Safety/funding — S1 event nonreporting, S3 GI symptoms/unknown denominator, reused route-specific risks and I1 funding uncertainty were separated.
- Text/display — Full bilingual text, seven axes,12 facets and every uncertainty reason are complete. Same-author quality A is distinct from efficacy C50 and independent certification.
Useful facts when choosing a product
- The paper names C-Tamin-500/Rekah tablets.
- It administers a labeled 500 mg C tablet twice daily for eight weeks.
- The control group receives no supplements.
Chamgap Semantic Classification Code
Permanent code issued
S.vitamin-c.oral-c1000-eight-week-tablet.high-hscrp-metabolic-adults.eight-week-final-hscrp.no-supplementIngredients and nutrients > Vitamin C; existing vitamin-c > C-Tamin-500 tablets labeled C 500 mg. Single-C add-on intervention; exact molecular form, salt and purity unconfirmed. No liposomal/combination assumption. > Age 20–60, BMI≥30, hypertension and/or type 2 diabetes, hs-CRP≥6 mg/L. Recent acute illness and major inflammatory conditions including renal disease excluded. C deficiency/dietary adequacy unclassified. > Eight-week unadjusted between-group final arithmetic mean hs-CRP difference (C−no supplement), mg/L;31/33 completers. Page primary; registered primary unverified. > No supplements with existing care/lifestyle-maintenance advice. Not placebo, an active anti-inflammatory or a statin comparator.
Eight-week hs-CRP in high-hs-CRP metabolic adults versus no supplement. Whole original KOEN,45unknowns,C50 and actual receipts preserved; not placebo, validated clinical importance or external peer review. The code identifies the intervention and claim; it never contains the evidence grade, score, or safety result.
Exact Claim Classification
These independent facets prevent evidence from different forms, routes, populations, effects, and comparators from being mixed.
| Intervention class | S · Supplement or nutraceutical |
|---|---|
| Canonical ingredient or intervention | Vitamin C; existing vitamin-c |
| Source or part used | Supplement tablets. Origin, source part and manufacturing substrate unconfirmed; not a whole plant food. |
| Formulation or processing | C-Tamin-500 tablets labeled C 500 mg. Single-C add-on intervention; exact molecular form, salt and purity unconfirmed. No liposomal/combination assumption. |
| Route | Oral. IV/topical results are not pooled into the primary effect. |
| Dose | 500 mg twice daily,1000 mg/day. Study dose, not a personal recommendation. |
| Duration | 8 weeks, baseline and endpoint blood draws. Two months,12 weeks and dialysis three-month periods are not treated as the same time. |
| Population | Age 20–60, BMI≥30, hypertension and/or type 2 diabetes, hs-CRP≥6 mg/L. Recent acute illness and major inflammatory conditions including renal disease excluded. C deficiency/dietary adequacy unclassified. |
| Effect or condition | Effect of oral C on systemic hs-CRP in selected high-hs-CRP metabolic adults, not clinical anti-inflammatory treatment or event prevention. |
| Primary endpoint | Eight-week unadjusted between-group final arithmetic mean hs-CRP difference (C−no supplement), mg/L;31/33 completers. Page primary; registered primary unverified. |
| Comparator | No supplements with existing care/lifestyle-maintenance advice. Not placebo, an active anti-inflammatory or a statin comparator. |
| Duplicate-detection key | S|vitamin-c|oral|hs-CRP|elevated-CRP-metabolic-adults|8-week-final|no-supplement |
What the research actually shows
Vitamin C × systemic inflammatory markers: eight-week findings in metabolic adults with elevated hs-CRP
TASK-1059 · R01-099 | Evidence cutoff 2026-09-18 | Efficacy C50 · Safety Caution · Document quality A (self-assessed)
30-second answer
In one small trial of adults with obesity, hypertension/type 2 diabetes and elevated hs-CRP, completers receiving oral C 1000 mg/day for eight weeks had a final hs-CRP mean 4.07 mg/L below the no-supplement group. The study lacked placebo/masking and used completers; findings in other populations are inconsistent. Current efficacy C50 rates this narrow biomarker signal, not clinical anti-inflammatory treatment, symptom improvement, cardiovascular prevention or drug replacement. [S1–S5]
Original question and the actual fixed comparison
The original question is: “Among adults with elevated hs-CRP, separated by disease, what effects, differences or risks connect vitamin C with systemic inflammatory markers?” Proposed oral monotherapy, placebo and hs-CRP were not treated as verified facts at entry. The 3170-record index,23 candidate original JSONs and eight selected completed packages from 037–040 and 095–098 were compared. No identical completed CRP claim was identified. Existing entity code vitamin-c is reused for one new CRP claim;043/3017/3170 and other completed judgments were not rescored.
The single primary endpoint is **the eight-week unadjusted between-group final arithmetic mean hs-CRP difference (C−no supplement), mg/L**. Selection reflects actual high-hs-CRP≥6 mg/L metabolic eligibility, an oral single-C parallel contrast, a fixed eight-week visit and available means/SDs/denominators. Population or duration was not invented to avoid duplication. This is the page’s primary endpoint, not a claim of verified registered-primary status. Registry history and multiplicity remain explicit uncertainties. [S1 Methods, Fig 1, Tables 1–2]
Actual evidence table: diseases, formulations and times remain separate
| Source/family | Population, C/comparator, time | CRP result and analysis | Selection/exclusion reason |
|---|---|---|---|
| S1 Ellulu2015 | BMI≥30, age 20–60, hypertension/type 2 diabetes, hs-CRP≥6; C 500 mg twice/day versus no supplement;8 weeks | 36/36 allocated,31/33 completed. Baseline14.86±9.20/14.50±14.26; final7.74±4.53/11.81±7.33 mg/L(mean±SD). Between P=.01 | Primary high-hs-CRP single-C contrast; open-label, completer, small and short limitations |
| S2 Block2009 | 396 healthy nonsmokers; C 1000 mg/day, E or placebo;2 months | Overall nonsignificant. Baseline CRP≥1 subgroup median relative change−25.3% versus placebo(P=.02); within-C−.25 mg/L/−16.7% | Retain subgroup signal without converting it into an overall mean difference or pooling medians/relative values with S1 |
| S3 Rabizadeh2023 | T2D not selected for high CRP; C 500 mg/day versus matched placebo;8 weeks | 35/35 allocated→32/25 analyzed. Table 2 C 3.11±3.23→3.15±3.31; placebo 2.39±2.64→2.38±2.36 mg/L. Within-C P=.899; between ANCOVA Model 6 P=.070 | hs-CRP is secondary. Preserve Table 3 scale conflict; no manufactured difference/CI. Oxidative improvement does not replace CRP success |
| S4 Vlasiuk2024 | Metabolic syndrome/CRP≥3; C 1000 mg plus ten other micronutrients versus placebo;12 weeks;37/35 analyzed | Reported adjusted difference−.3 mg/L,95%CI−2.7 to2.1,P=.8 | High-CRP counterevidence, but combination product cannot isolate C, prove equivalence or establish exact zero |
| S5 Zhang2013 | Maintenance hemodialysis, low circulating C and hs-CRP>3; C 200 mg/day;3-month supplementation/withdrawal periods | 67/61 allocated→48/52 completed. Medians/IQR and decreases during supplementation with rebound after withdrawal reported | Separate deficiency/renal status and crossover period/carryover;100 people are not200 and no mean effect is inferred |
M1/M2 reviews are search maps, not adopted primary estimates: complete numerical tables/included trials were unavailable. Participants from reviews and included trials were never summed. S1 belongs to a three-arm omega-3/C/control family, so shared controls and additional reports are not independent replication. Observational dietary/circulating-C associations do not replace causal supplementation effects; they were not automatically graded F0 merely for being observational. [S1–S5,M1–M2]
Numerical audit and interpretation
The published final-value between-group P=.01 is retained. Actual arithmetic gives **7.74−11.81=−4.07 mg/L**. From original means, SDs and denominators, the separately executed Welch approximation gives SE 1.51331, df 53.82066,95%CI **−7.10424 to−1.03576 mg/L**, two-sided P=.00950888. A pooled-variance t sensitivity check gives P=.01015880. These aggregate independent-group approximations do not resolve skewness, outliers, allocation/missingness bias or multiplicity. The reconstructed interval is not labeled as a reported CI. [S1 Table 2; arithmetic/inferential original receipts]
Within-C change−7.12, within-control change−2.69 and the descriptive change difference−4.43 mg/L are different quantities from the final-value difference. No change-difference CI, ANCOVA or ITT imputation was calculated without change SDs, pre/post correlation or participant data. No mg/dL↔mg/L, logarithmic or median-to-mean conversion was performed. Table 1 baselines 14.36/14.02 use36/36 participants; Table 2 baselines 14.86/14.50 use31/33. Denominators were not mixed to manufacture baseline balance or change. The abstract’s allocation wording and 21 unexplained people between 129 eligible and 108 randomized are preserved.
S3 Table 3 prints adjusted final hs-CRP as C 30.76(23.39–38.23) and placebo 28.44(19.09–37.80) **mg/L**, conflicting in scale with Table 2 values near 3. The correct repaired value is null. P=.899 was not used as a between-group effect and values were not divided by ten. Reduced AGEs/MDA do not establish hs-CRP/TNF inflammatory success. [S3 Tables 2–3]
General risk categories, personal targets, sample-size assumptions and validated between-group clinical thresholds are different concepts. No clinical minimum important difference was verified for this eight-week hs-CRP comparison. The executed standardization is pooled SD=√[(30×4.53²+32×7.33²)/62]=6.136816 and d=−4.07/6.136816=−0.663210. This statistical convention and its 0.5 threshold are not an MCID for disease improvement or event prevention. They do not support reducing or stopping prescribed therapy.
Disease, route and deficiency limits
High-CRP metabolic disease, healthy people with low baseline CRP/subgroup findings, C-depleted dialysis and multinutrient supplementation do not estimate one identical effect. A diagnosis of T2D does not establish elevated CRP or C deficiency. S1 excludes recent acute illness, regular NSAID/statin use and several renal/inflammatory conditions, but existing disease management is not absent. Without direct treatment-interaction evidence for disease, age, C/CRP status or dose, no disease-response ranking is made. Acute-infection/sepsis IV findings are not pooled with chronic oral biomarker outcomes. [S1–S5; completed original1579]
hs-CRP, conventional CRP, IL-6, TNF, ESR and oxidative markers remain distinct. S1 also measures IL-6 without changing this page’s primary endpoint. The paper’s assay label is preserved, while high-sensitivity performance and exact sampling time are uncertain. Baseline C, total dietary C, actual changes in diet/weight/exercise/smoking and stability of all concurrent medicines are also unconfirmed; a comprehensive supplement-only lifestyle effect cannot be established.
Safety and product facts
Caution. S1 does not adequately report arm-specific adverse events/exposure denominators, so safety or zero events cannot be claimed. S3 reports four C-arm upset-stomach and two nausea reports, with unclear safety denominator/person overlap. Completed R01-040/098 safety records are reused to distinguish oral high-dose GI, stone/oxalate, iron-overload and assay-interference cautions. High-dose IV renal/G6PD hemolysis warnings are not transferred as equal rates for oral 1000 mg. Pregnancy, childhood, renal-disease and long-term safety are unconfirmed; the study dose is not a personal prescription. [S1,S3; REUSE safety records]
The previously completed safety layer’s adult upper intake level of 2000 mg/day concerns total intake; it is neither a personal recommended dose nor a renal-safety guarantee. Iron overload, stone history, impaired renal function, planned testing and prescribed co-medication may differ from trial conditions. Assay interference depends on method, route and concentration; interference with every CRP assay is not claimed. No new safety-incidence calculation was made. [Reused R01-040 safety and original NIH ODS/ASCOR records]
Trial-product facts are: “The paper names C-Tamin-500/Rekah tablets.” “It labels 500 mg C per tablet and administers two daily for eight weeks.” “The control group receives no supplements.” Exact molecular form, batch, independent content and complete excipients are unconfirmed. Advertising was not systematically studied, so what_ads=null does not mean advertising is absent.
Efficacy, safety and document quality are separate
The unchanged original calculator returns letter C, adopted as C. Numeric 50 is not its return value: it is the supplied rubric’s C-band anchor for one strength (E+). Cases 28 statistical-magnitude classification,30 official between-group estimand,29 unverified-funding I1 and31 comparability apply. Case25 EX(b) is explicitly rescinded in the supplied document. The absent clinical threshold does not permit a successful clinical anti-inflammatory-treatment claim or a C1 strength. No prior C54 was copied.
The seven axes, seven evaluations, twelve facets and every uncertainty reason below are part of the current judgment. Document quality A rates traceability and bilingual/format completion within this scope, not efficacy A, infallibility, independent review or journal certification.
Seven axes and reasons
claim_type: B
B: This asks about a between-group hs-CRP effect of oral supplementation in people, not merely a physicochemical antioxidant mechanism.
endpoint: S
S: Blood hs-CRP is a surrogate, not remission, symptoms, cardiovascular events or death; the grade is capped at C.
replication: R1
R1: S1 is one direct family for hs-CRP≥6, obesity with hypertension/type 2 diabetes, C 1000 mg/day versus no supplement, and eight-week final values. S2 healthy subgroups, S3 lower-dose/unselected secondary CRP, S4 combination and S5 dialysis crossover do not satisfy case 31 comparability for R2, RX or formal R0. Broader inconsistency remains explicit.
independence: I1
I1: UPM publication costs and no COI are reported, but total decisive-trial funding/product donation are unverified. Case 29 unknown-funding I1 applies; no I2 strength is counted.
effect: E+
E+: Supplied cases 28 tier 2 and30 apply. The paper uses a final-value independent t comparison; completer baselines 14.86/14.50 were checked. Actually calculated final difference−4.07/pooled SD6.1368 gives d−0.6632, exceeding the conventional moderate 0.5 threshold. This classifies statistical magnitude, not a validated clinical MCID or treatment recommendation. Rescinded case 25 EX(b) is not used.
precision: C0
C0: The calculated approximate CI is−7.1042 to−1.0358 mg/L, but a clinical threshold is unverified. Statistical exclusion of zero is not exclusion of clinical benefit. This descriptive axis on the E+ path supplies neither a D/F floor nor a C1 strength.
bias: B2
B2: Actual supplied-rubric limitations include completer analysis, fewer than 200 participants and less than 12 weeks. Open-label design and unverified concealment are described without misclassifying objective hs-CRP as subjective. Funding, CI width and effect size are not counted again as bias defects.
Seven editorial evaluations
Directness
High-hs-CRP metabolic eligibility was checked; the proposed placebo was replaced with the actual no-supplement comparator.
Denominators/design
36/36 allocated,31/33 completed,21 unexplained eligible nonrandomized people and the three-arm family’s shared control were distinguished.
Numbers/arithmetic
Original-scale means/SDs, final and change contrasts, published P, calculated approximate CI and standardization formulas have separate receipts.
Bias/registration
Completer analysis, small size, short follow-up and unverified registered hierarchy/multiplicity were incorporated.
Counterevidence/families
S2 overall null, S3 within/between P and scale conflict, S4 combination null and S5 dialysis were retained without pooling.
Safety/funding
S1 event nonreporting, S3 GI symptoms/unknown denominator, reused route-specific risks and I1 funding uncertainty were separated.
Text/display
Full bilingual text, seven axes,12 facets and every uncertainty reason are complete. Same-author quality A is distinct from efficacy C50 and independent certification.
Twelve classification facets
**kind** — S
**canonical_entity** — Vitamin C; existing vitamin-c
**source_part** — Supplement tablets. Origin, source part and manufacturing substrate unconfirmed; not a whole plant food.
**formulation** — C-Tamin-500 tablets labeled C 500 mg. Single-C add-on intervention; exact molecular form, salt and purity unconfirmed. No liposomal/combination assumption.
**route** — Oral. IV/topical results are not pooled into the primary effect.
**dose** — 500 mg twice daily,1000 mg/day. Study dose, not a personal recommendation.
**duration** — 8 weeks, baseline and endpoint blood draws. Two months,12 weeks and dialysis three-month periods are not treated as the same time.
**population** — Age 20–60, BMI≥30, hypertension and/or type 2 diabetes, hs-CRP≥6 mg/L. Recent acute illness and major inflammatory conditions including renal disease excluded. C deficiency/dietary adequacy unclassified.
**claim** — Effect of oral C on systemic hs-CRP in selected high-hs-CRP metabolic adults, not clinical anti-inflammatory treatment or event prevention.
**primary_endpoint** — Eight-week unadjusted between-group final arithmetic mean hs-CRP difference (C−no supplement), mg/L;31/33 completers. Page primary; registered primary unverified.
**comparator** — No supplements with existing care/lifestyle-maintenance advice. Not placebo, an active anti-inflammatory or a statin comparator.
**duplicate_key** — S|vitamin-c|oral|hs-CRP|elevated-CRP-metabolic-adults|8-week-final|no-supplement
All unresolved/out-of-scope reasons and revision conditions
**U01 · not_reported · null** — Exact molecular form, salt and stereochemistry are unconfirmed. Naming a vitamin C 500-mg tablet does not chemically establish pure L-ascorbic acid.
**U02 · not_reported · null** — Batch, independent content assay, purity, complete excipients, manufacturing substrate and source/part are unconfirmed. The PDF host’s brand does not establish the trial product or a liposomal formulation.
**U03 · not_reported · null** — Baseline circulating C, a deficiency definition, total dietary C and adequacy proportions are not reported; deficiency correction and supplementation in replete people cannot be estimated separately.
**U04 · not_reported · null** — Lifestyle-maintenance advice is reported, but longitudinal diet, weight, exercise, smoking cessation and the identity/dose stability of all concurrent medicines are insufficiently described. This is not reclassified as a drug-free trial.
**U05 · not_reported · null** — The CRP turbidimetric latex 1:5/Mindray BS-120 method and hs-CRP label are reported, but independent high-sensitivity validation, detection limit, calibration and precision under these conditions are unconfirmed.
**U06 · not_reported · null** — Baseline and week-eight sampling are confirmed, but the exact CRP draw time, fasting duration and interval since the last C dose are unconfirmed.
**U07 · inaccessible · null** — Participant distributions, outliers and unrounded data are unavailable for checking skewness, regression effects or outlier rules. Large SDs are not declared erroneous.
**U08 · not_reported · null** — Manual die-based block allocation and open-label design are reported. Allocation concealment and assessor masking are not fully established, so the B0 safeguards are not presumed satisfied.
**U09 · not_reported · null** — Outcomes for five C and three control noncompleters and ITT imputation are unavailable. The primary estimate compares 31/33 completers, not all 36/36 randomized participants.
**U10 · not_reported · null** — The flow diagram leaves the reason for 21 nonrandomized eligible people unexplained: 484 screened minus 355 excluded gives 129, but 108 were randomized. These 21 are not treated as withdrawals from the present C comparison.
**U11 · conflicting · null** — The abstract describes 31/33 as randomized, whereas Table 1/flow show 36/36 allocated and Table 2 shows 31/33 completers. Tables/flow are adopted while preserving the abstract discrepancy.
**U12 · inaccessible · null** — FPSK_Mac [13]04 is also called a registration number in the paper but appears in an ethics-approval context. A public trial-registration record and prospective registration date were not verified.
**U13 · not_reported · null** — This page fixes hs-CRP, but registered primary hierarchy, multiplicity correction and co-primary success are unverified. Primary-failure/co-primary-split flags are null rather than guessed false.
**U14 · not_reported · null** — The paper does not report a between-group difference CI or SE. The −7.10 to −1.04 mg/L interval in this manuscript is the Welch approximation actually calculated here from original means, SDs and denominators.
**U15 · not_reported · null** — Change SDs and pre/post correlations are unavailable, so no CI or P was calculated for the descriptive change difference of −4.43 mg/L. It is distinct from the −4.07 final-value difference.
**U16 · inaccessible · null** — Aggregate Welch/pooled-t checks do not reproduce participant-level analysis, baseline adjustment, missing-data sensitivity or the paper’s exact variance-test selection.
**U17 · not_reported · null** — No validated clinical minimum important difference was identified for this population and eight-week between-group hs-CRP contrast. d=0.663 is a statistical-magnitude classification under supplied case 28, not a clinical threshold, individual target or risk category.
**U18 · not_applicable · null** — The selected effect is a biomarker result, not an estimate of symptoms, remission, myocardial infarction, stroke, death or drug replacement. No ARR/NNT is manufactured.
**U19 · not_reported · null** — UPM publication-cost support and a no-conflict declaration are reported, but overall trial funding and product donation are unconfirmed. Supplied case 29 supports I1, not an upgrade to I2.
**U20 · not_reported · null** — Detailed adverse-event/withdrawal reasons, event counts and safety denominators are insufficiently reported. Nonreporting is not coded as zero events or demonstrated safety.
**U21 · not_applicable · null** — An eight-week adult trial does not establish long-term safety or safety in pregnancy, lactation, children, renal/hepatic disease, iron overload or G6PD deficiency. Safety in excluded populations is not inferred.
**U22 · inaccessible · null** — The official abstract supplies the overall null finding and median relative change for baseline CRP≥1, but exact subgroup arm denominators, original-scale mean difference and CI were not obtained.
**U23 · inaccessible · null** — The S2 subgroup’s prespecification, multiplicity, outlier rules, assay and missing-data details were not fully checked in the original full text. Median/relative values are not pooled with S1 mean mg/L.
**U24 · conflicting · null** — S3 Table 2 is around 3 mg/L, while Table 3 prints adjusted final hs-CRP as C 30.76(23.39–38.23) and placebo 28.44(19.09–37.80) mg/L. The scale conflict is preserved without division by ten or silent unit correction.
**U25 · not_reported · null** — S3 P=.899 is within the C arm. Between-group ANCOVA gives Model 1 P=.106 and Model 6 P=.070. The scale conflict and absent difference CI preclude reconstruction of a difference or standardized magnitude.
**U26 · inaccessible · null** — IRCT20160811029306N1 and the date stated in the paper are recorded, but official history was not checked. Failure at a guessed IRCT URL is not successful registration verification.
**U27 · not_reported · null** — C-arm counts of four upset-stomach and two nausea reports are given, but the exact safety denominator and participant overlap are unspecified. No event rate or combined count is invented.
**U28 · not_applicable · null** — S4 changes C together with ten other micronutrients for 12 weeks, so it cannot isolate C alone. It is not counted as repeated refutation of C monotherapy.
**U29 · inaccessible · null** — S4 analysis denominators 37/35, reported registration and product provision are recorded, but complete recruitment/replacement flow, official registry history and all relevant subgroup interactions were not independently established.
**U30 · not_reported · null** — S5 is crossover-period evidence in dialysis patients with low C. Supplementation/withdrawal sequences change without a separate washout; an exact hs-CRP CI fully adjusted for period, order and carryover was not obtained.
**U31 · not_reported · null** — S5 reports withdrawals including deaths, heart failure and infection, but C attribution and adequate arm-specific exposure/safety denominators are uncertain. This is neither a low-dose safety guarantee nor a C-caused event rate.
**U32 · not_applicable · null** — The 200-mg dialysis/low-C result is not generalized to normal renal function, adequate C intake or high-dose IV treatment. Means/SDs were not manufactured from medians/IQRs.
**U33 · inaccessible · null** — Complete tables, included trials, endpoint denominators, funding and cross-review overlap were unavailable for the two meta-analyses. They serve only as search maps; no trial-plus-review participant sums or new pooled effect are produced.
**U34 · inaccessible · null** — Web searches and direct primary-source access were performed, but some DOI, recent-year and Korean queries returned irrelevant results. Exhaustive coverage through 2026, including unpublished registry results, and absence of further trials are not claimed.
**U35 · inaccessible · null** — Limited checks did not establish an applicable correction/retraction notice. This is not certification that the entire publication history is free of corrections or retractions.
**U36 · not_reported · null** — Cross-disease comparisons also differ in baseline CRP, C status, dose, duration and coingredients. These data do not estimate causal treatment-effect differences across obesity, diabetes, renal/CVD and healthy groups or deficiency interactions.
**U37 · not_applicable · null** — Observational dietary/circulating-C associations are not randomized supplementation effects and do not supply this page’s primary estimate. They are not automatically graded F0 or unscored merely for being observational.
**U38 · not_applicable · null** — hs-CRP/conventional CRP, IL-6, TNF, ESR and oxidative markers are distinct endpoints. A reduction in one does not supply another’s value; an ESR effect under the same conditions is not established here.
**U39 · not_applicable · null** — No site reservation, connection or deployment occurred; ID, slug, URL, permanent semantic code and first publication are null. Display originals are the TASK-1059 JSON ko/en.body_markdown fields and identical publication.ko/en.md files.
**U40 · not_searched · null** — Advertising claims were not systematically collected, so what_ads is null. This does not mean no advertising exists; reported trial-product facts are listed separately as sentences.
**U41 · not_applicable · null** — This is same-assistant self-verification, not independent external review, journal certification or a recipient FULL audit. Document quality A, efficacy C50 and safety Caution are distinct judgments.
**U42 · not_applicable · null** — The C54/four-week LDL result from 98 and original 3017 blood-pressure C54 from 97 are not transferred to CRP. The absence of BP wording in 043 is preserved; an old short what_research is not presented as a new full manuscript.
**U43 · not_applicable · null** — Unit conversion, log back-transformation, S3 scale repair, change-score CI, participant ANCOVA and meta-analysis reruns were not performed; outputs/exits are null with reasons. Technical verifiers do not invoke clinical grading or statistical code.
**U44 · not_applicable · null** — native3170 and FULL0/5 are incoming records. Historical98 HTTP200,519 technical regression and FULL5/5 are not new site checks; this execution does not claim an increased recipient FULL completion count.
**U45 · not_applicable · null** — Completed safety layers on stones/oxalate, iron overload, assay interference and IV G6PD risk are reused. Route-specific risks are not merged and their event rates are not transferred to this hs-CRP trial.
Revision condition: If original/registry history, correction, individual data or new direct evidence changes a value or scope, revise the same ID/URL with before/after values, reason, source and date. Current clinical_todo=[]; no clinical research, rescoring or calculator/statistical replay is assigned to the recipient.
Sources and access levels
**S1** — Ellulu et al. Drug Des Devel Ther. 2015;9:3405–3412. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/26170625/
Accessed primary text: https://www.liposhell.pl/images/pdf/13._Ellulu_M.S._at._al._2015.pdf
**S2** — Block et al. Free Radic Biol Med. 2009;46:70–77. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/18952164/
**S3** — Rabizadeh et al. Food Sci Nutr. 2023;11:5967–5977. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37823170/
Accessed primary text: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/pdf/10.1002/fsn3.3530
**S4** — Vlasiuk et al. 2024. PMCID PMC11047647. https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11047647/
**S5** — Zhang et al. BMC Nephrol. 2013;14:252. https://link.springer.com/article/10.1186/1471-2369-14-252
**M1** — Jafarnejad et al. Curr Pharm Des. 2018;24:3520–3528. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/30332942/
**M2** — Vitamin C supplementation and C-reactive protein levels: Findings from a systematic review and meta-analysis of clinical trials https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/32229693/
Access: S1 used actual author-provided text and visual table checks in a primary-publication PDF mirror. S3 used publisher PDF; S4–S5 original HTML; S2 official abstract. M1/M2 are maps, not verified full numerical tables. Local full-paper SHA values are null because original bytes were not obtained. Safety sources remain unchanged in sources.json REUSE_* and protected_inputs/기존완료원자료/R01-040 and 098.
Display and self-review notice
editorial_review version 1.0, independent=false. The same author self-checked sources, numbers, scope, original-calculator execution and bilingual bytes. Site ID/slug/URL/semantic code/first publication remain null; no fresh site HTTP or deployment occurred. Display paths are verdicts/TASK-1059.json ko.body_markdown/ko.what_research/ko.synth.what_research and publication.ko.md, with corresponding en paths. The four locations per language are UTF-8-byte-identical. Initial corrections=[]; pre-submission audit is separate. Only 99 is completed; 100 was not started.
Why this is classified as C (50)
Unchanged letter function C is adopted; one separately counted E+ strength gives C50. Statistical magnitude is not clinical MCID achievement.
Counterpoint. Cross-disease comparisons also differ in baseline CRP, C status, dose, duration and coingredients. These data do not estimate causal treatment-effect differences across obesity, diabetes, renal/CVD and healthy groups or deficiency interactions.
Seven original axes · statistical size is not clinical importance
| claim_type | B | B: This asks about a between-group hs-CRP effect of oral supplementation in people, not merely a physicochemical antioxidant mechanism. |
| endpoint | S | S: Blood hs-CRP is a surrogate, not remission, symptoms, cardiovascular events or death; the grade is capped at C. |
| replication | R1 | R1: S1 is one direct family for hs-CRP≥6, obesity with hypertension/type 2 diabetes, C 1000 mg/day versus no supplement, and eight-week final values. S2 healthy subgroups, S3 lower-dose/unselected secondary CRP, S4 combination and S5 dialysis crossover do not satisfy case 31 comparability for R2, RX or formal R0. Broader inconsistency remains explicit. |
| independence | I1 | I1: UPM publication costs and no COI are reported, but total decisive-trial funding/product donation are unverified. Case 29 unknown-funding I1 applies; no I2 strength is counted. |
| effect | E+ | E+: Supplied cases 28 tier 2 and30 apply. The paper uses a final-value independent t comparison; completer baselines 14.86/14.50 were checked. Actually calculated final difference−4.07/pooled SD6.1368 gives d−0.6632, exceeding the conventional moderate 0.5 threshold. This classifies statistical magnitude, not a validated clinical MCID or treatment recommendation. Rescinded case 25 EX(b) is not used. |
| precision | C0 | C0: The calculated approximate CI is−7.1042 to−1.0358 mg/L, but a clinical threshold is unverified. Statistical exclusion of zero is not exclusion of clinical benefit. This descriptive axis on the E+ path supplies neither a D/F floor nor a C1 strength. |
| bias | B2 | B2: Actual supplied-rubric limitations include completer analysis, fewer than 200 participants and less than 12 weeks. Open-label design and unverified concealment are described without misclassifying objective hs-CRP as subjective. Funding, CI width and effect size are not counted again as bias defects. |
no_human_study · Actual human trials S1–S5 exist, so false.
big_hard_rct · Small surrogate trial, so false.
primary_failed_secondary_positive · This page fixes hs-CRP, but registered primary hierarchy, multiplicity correction and co-primary success are unverified. Primary-failure/co-primary-split flags are null rather than guessed false.
coprimary_split · This page fixes hs-CRP, but registered primary hierarchy, multiplicity correction and co-primary success are unverified. Primary-failure/co-primary-split flags are null rather than guessed false.
Review performed and remaining limitations
Exact molecular form, salt and stereochemistry are unconfirmed. Naming a vitamin C 500-mg tablet does not chemically establish pure L-ascorbic acid. Batch, independent content assay, purity, complete excipients, manufacturing substrate and source/part are unconfirmed. The PDF host’s brand does not establish the trial product or a liposomal formulation. Baseline circulating C, a deficiency definition, total dietary C and adequacy proportions are not reported; deficiency correction and supplementation in replete people cannot be estimated separately. Lifestyle-maintenance advice is reported, but longitudinal diet, weight, exercise, smoking cessation and the identity/dose stability of all concurrent medicines are insufficiently described. This is not reclassified as a drug-free trial. The CRP turbidimetric latex 1:5/Mindray BS-120 method and hs-CRP label are reported, but independent high-sensitivity validation, detection limit, calibration and precision under these conditions are unconfirmed. Baseline and week-eight sampling are confirmed, but the exact CRP draw time, fasting duration and interval since the last C dose are unconfirmed. Participant distributions, outliers and unrounded data are unavailable for checking skewness, regression effects or outlier rules. Large SDs are not declared erroneous. Manual die-based block allocation and open-label design are reported. Allocation concealment and assessor masking are not fully established, so the B0 safeguards are not presumed satisfied. Outcomes for five C and three control noncompleters and ITT imputation are unavailable. The primary estimate compares 31/33 completers, not all 36/36 randomized participants. The flow diagram leaves the reason for 21 nonrandomized eligible people unexplained: 484 screened minus 355 excluded gives 129, but 108 were randomized. These 21 are not treated as withdrawals from the present C comparison. The abstract describes 31/33 as randomized, whereas Table 1/flow show 36/36 allocated and Table 2 shows 31/33 completers. Tables/flow are adopted while preserving the abstract discrepancy. FPSK_Mac [13]04 is also called a registration number in the paper but appears in an ethics-approval context. A public trial-registration record and prospective registration date were not verified. This page fixes hs-CRP, but registered primary hierarchy, multiplicity correction and co-primary success are unverified. Primary-failure/co-primary-split flags are null rather than guessed false. The paper does not report a between-group difference CI or SE. The −7.10 to −1.04 mg/L interval in this manuscript is the Welch approximation actually calculated here from original means, SDs and denominators. Change SDs and pre/post correlations are unavailable, so no CI or P was calculated for the descriptive change difference of −4.43 mg/L. It is distinct from the −4.07 final-value difference. Aggregate Welch/pooled-t checks do not reproduce participant-level analysis, baseline adjustment, missing-data sensitivity or the paper’s exact variance-test selection. No validated clinical minimum important difference was identified for this population and eight-week between-group hs-CRP contrast. d=0.663 is a statistical-magnitude classification under supplied case 28, not a clinical threshold, individual target or risk category. The selected effect is a biomarker result, not an estimate of symptoms, remission, myocardial infarction, stroke, death or drug replacement. No ARR/NNT is manufactured. UPM publication-cost support and a no-conflict declaration are reported, but overall trial funding and product donation are unconfirmed. Supplied case 29 supports I1, not an upgrade to I2. Detailed adverse-event/withdrawal reasons, event counts and safety denominators are insufficiently reported. Nonreporting is not coded as zero events or demonstrated safety. An eight-week adult trial does not establish long-term safety or safety in pregnancy, lactation, children, renal/hepatic disease, iron overload or G6PD deficiency. Safety in excluded populations is not inferred. The official abstract supplies the overall null finding and median relative change for baseline CRP≥1, but exact subgroup arm denominators, original-scale mean difference and CI were not obtained. The S2 subgroup’s prespecification, multiplicity, outlier rules, assay and missing-data details were not fully checked in the original full text. Median/relative values are not pooled with S1 mean mg/L. S3 Table 2 is around 3 mg/L, while Table 3 prints adjusted final hs-CRP as C 30.76(23.39–38.23) and placebo 28.44(19.09–37.80) mg/L. The scale conflict is preserved without division by ten or silent unit correction. S3 P=.899 is within the C arm. Between-group ANCOVA gives Model 1 P=.106 and Model 6 P=.070. The scale conflict and absent difference CI preclude reconstruction of a difference or standardized magnitude. IRCT20160811029306N1 and the date stated in the paper are recorded, but official history was not checked. Failure at a guessed IRCT URL is not successful registration verification. C-arm counts of four upset-stomach and two nausea reports are given, but the exact safety denominator and participant overlap are unspecified. No event rate or combined count is invented. S4 changes C together with ten other micronutrients for 12 weeks, so it cannot isolate C alone. It is not counted as repeated refutation of C monotherapy. S4 analysis denominators 37/35, reported registration and product provision are recorded, but complete recruitment/replacement flow, official registry history and all relevant subgroup interactions were not independently established. S5 is crossover-period evidence in dialysis patients with low C. Supplementation/withdrawal sequences change without a separate washout; an exact hs-CRP CI fully adjusted for period, order and carryover was not obtained. S5 reports withdrawals including deaths, heart failure and infection, but C attribution and adequate arm-specific exposure/safety denominators are uncertain. This is neither a low-dose safety guarantee nor a C-caused event rate. The 200-mg dialysis/low-C result is not generalized to normal renal function, adequate C intake or high-dose IV treatment. Means/SDs were not manufactured from medians/IQRs. Complete tables, included trials, endpoint denominators, funding and cross-review overlap were unavailable for the two meta-analyses. They serve only as search maps; no trial-plus-review participant sums or new pooled effect are produced. Web searches and direct primary-source access were performed, but some DOI, recent-year and Korean queries returned irrelevant results. Exhaustive coverage through 2026, including unpublished registry results, and absence of further trials are not claimed. Limited checks did not establish an applicable correction/retraction notice. This is not certification that the entire publication history is free of corrections or retractions. Cross-disease comparisons also differ in baseline CRP, C status, dose, duration and coingredients. These data do not estimate causal treatment-effect differences across obesity, diabetes, renal/CVD and healthy groups or deficiency interactions. Observational dietary/circulating-C associations are not randomized supplementation effects and do not supply this page’s primary estimate. They are not automatically graded F0 or unscored merely for being observational. hs-CRP/conventional CRP, IL-6, TNF, ESR and oxidative markers are distinct endpoints. A reduction in one does not supply another’s value; an ESR effect under the same conditions is not established here. No site reservation, connection or deployment occurred; ID, slug, URL, permanent semantic code and first publication are null. Display originals are the TASK-1059 JSON ko/en.body_markdown fields and identical publication.ko/en.md files. Advertising claims were not systematically collected, so what_ads is null. This does not mean no advertising exists; reported trial-product facts are listed separately as sentences. This is same-assistant self-verification, not independent external review, journal certification or a recipient FULL audit. Document quality A, efficacy C50 and safety Caution are distinct judgments. The C54/four-week LDL result from 98 and original 3017 blood-pressure C54 from 97 are not transferred to CRP. The absence of BP wording in 043 is preserved; an old short what_research is not presented as a new full manuscript. Unit conversion, log back-transformation, S3 scale repair, change-score CI, participant ANCOVA and meta-analysis reruns were not performed; outputs/exits are null with reasons. Technical verifiers do not invoke clinical grading or statistical code. native3170 and FULL0/5 are incoming records. Historical98 HTTP200,519 technical regression and FULL5/5 are not new site checks; this execution does not claim an increased recipient FULL completion count. Completed safety layers on stones/oxalate, iron overload, assay interference and IV G6PD risk are reused. Route-specific risks are not merged and their event rates are not transferred to this hs-CRP trial.
Evidence Table
| Source/family | Population, C/comparator, time | CRP result and analysis | Selection/exclusion reason |
|---|---|---|---|
| S1 Ellulu2015 | BMI≥30, age 20–60, hypertension/type 2 diabetes, hs-CRP≥6; C 500 mg twice/day versus no supplement;8 weeks | 36/36 allocated,31/33 completed. Baseline14.86±9.20/14.50±14.26; final7.74±4.53/11.81±7.33 mg/L(mean±SD). Between P=.01 | Primary high-hs-CRP single-C contrast; open-label, completer, small and short limitations |
| S2 Block2009 | 396 healthy nonsmokers; C 1000 mg/day, E or placebo;2 months | Overall nonsignificant. Baseline CRP≥1 subgroup median relative change−25.3% versus placebo(P=.02); within-C−.25 mg/L/−16.7% | Retain subgroup signal without converting it into an overall mean difference or pooling medians/relative values with S1 |
| S3 Rabizadeh2023 | T2D not selected for high CRP; C 500 mg/day versus matched placebo;8 weeks | 35/35 allocated→32/25 analyzed. Table 2 C 3.11±3.23→3.15±3.31; placebo 2.39±2.64→2.38±2.36 mg/L. Within-C P=.899; between ANCOVA Model 6 P=.070 | hs-CRP is secondary. Preserve Table 3 scale conflict; no manufactured difference/CI. Oxidative improvement does not replace CRP success |
| S4 Vlasiuk2024 | Metabolic syndrome/CRP≥3; C 1000 mg plus ten other micronutrients versus placebo;12 weeks;37/35 analyzed | Reported adjusted difference−.3 mg/L,95%CI−2.7 to2.1,P=.8 | High-CRP counterevidence, but combination product cannot isolate C, prove equivalence or establish exact zero |
| S5 Zhang2013 | Maintenance hemodialysis, low circulating C and hs-CRP>3; C 200 mg/day;3-month supplementation/withdrawal periods | 67/61 allocated→48/52 completed. Medians/IQR and decreases during supplementation with rebound after withdrawal reported | Separate deficiency/renal status and crossover period/carryover;100 people are not200 and no mean effect is inferred |
Receipt — 7 References
Evidence access cutoff: 2026-09-18. Each citation states its actual access level (full-text transcription, abstract, index, or other) and remaining limitations. Bibliographic checking does not certify the study results or treatment efficacy.
Technical integration by: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-09-18 · Corrections: none
Cite this verdict
[Chamgap] Vitamin C × systemic inflammatory markers: eight-week findings in metabolic adults with elevated hs-CRP — Evidence Grade C·50. 7 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/antioxidant-aging/oral-vitamin-c-eight-week-hscrp-high-crp-metabolic-adults/ · CC BY 4.0CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.
What this document does and does not do
Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.