CHAMGAP
Verdict No. 3113 · Search date 2026-09-16 · Methodology v1.0

Oral cyanocobalamin ampule regimen,
does it really help with Day-90 hemoglobin in B12-deficiency megaloblastic anemia versus intramuscular administration of the same compound?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 46 · Safety caution
ChatGPT source review and self-verification · Codex technical integration
Current value at 2026-09-16: completed_with_uncertainty / ready_with_uncertainty. Site ID, final URLs and permanent semantic code: needs_id_assignment. Review method: single-assistant self-review, not independent external clinical review, journal certification or assurance of search completeness. R01-036–R01-038 and server deployment were not started.
The narrative report of no treatment-related adverse events is linked to the 26 oral and 34 IM participants observed over 90 days. Separate totals for all adverse events, serious adverse events and adverse-event withdrawals, and safety in the 10 participants lost to follow-up, remain unknown. No established tolerable upper intake level does not guarantee unlimited safety. Cobalt sensitivity is tied to the accessed cyanocobalamin/hydroxocobalamin notice. Leber optic neuropathy and early hypokalemia during intensive treatment of severe megaloblastic anemia are scoped to the cyanocobalamin injection label. Injection warnings are not event rates for oral treatment or other chemical forms. This trial does not establish long-term safety or safety in hepatic/renal disease, pregnancy, lactation or children. Research schedules are not personal dosing, injection-selection, transfusion or medication-change instructions. [S01][S20][S21][S22]
What the
research shows
Both groups improved in the direct trial, but superiority of this oral regimen over intramuscular treatment was not established. The unadjusted day-90 oral-minus-IM endpoint mean difference was +0.10 g/dL (editor-reconstructed 95% CI −0.31 to +0.51, using the original table as transcribed). Nonsignificance is not proof of zero effect, equivalence or noninferiority. [S01;C01]
What the
ads claim
Claims that all oral B12 is equivalent to injections, that a serum B12 increase proves hemoglobin efficacy, or that this trial establishes fatigue benefit in B12-replete adults exceed the evidence. No new market-advertising survey is claimed.

Four separate assessment dimensions

Effect direction and sizeThe unadjusted day90 oral-minus-IM endpoint MD is +0.10g/dL; reconstructed95%CI −0.31 to+0.51. Rounded within-arm mean increases are about+5.4g/dL each, but no change-scoreCI or adjusted effect is reported. Superiority is unestablished; equivalence/noninferiority was not tested. [S01;C01;C02]
Evidence certaintyOne small open-label complete-case trial; full original-article transcription rather than original PDF inspected. Allocation concealment, Hb-assessor blinding, prospective hierarchy, funding and some co-treatments are unverified. This is a narrow low-certainty current assessment, not an official GRADE rating. [S01]
ApplicabilityRestricted to actual adults with B12-deficiency megaloblastic anemia given cyanocobalamin ampule+fruitjuice orally versus the same compound IM. Do not extend to tablets/other forms or routes, untreated-control efficacy, confirmed cause-specific pernicious anemia or B12-replete adults. [S01]
SafetyCaution. No reported treatment-related events does not establish absence of allAEs/SAEs or safety in losses, long-term use or special populations. Injection-label context is kept separate. [S01][S20][S21][S22]

B/S/R1/I1/E~/B2/precisionnull yieldsC; zero strength flags yield46. I1 is the required unknown-funding fallback, not verified mixed funding. E~ applies amended case28 statistical magnitude classification, not proof of MCID failure or statistical positivity.

*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The original product was Dodex (Deva, Turkey), a 1,000 mcg cyanocobalamin ampule. It must not be replaced in this claim by methylcobalamin/mecobalamin, hydroxocobalamin, adenosylcobalamin or oral tablets. Batch, purity, manufacturing origin, additional salt specifications and release technology were not reported. [S01]
  • Both arms received 1,000 mcg daily for 10 days, then weekly for four weeks, followed by planned monthly administration. Observation lasted 90 days. The first 14 administrations total 14,000 mcg per arm; this is a subtotal, not the exact 90-day cumulative dose. A planned lifelong monthly schedule is not lifelong follow-up. [S01;C05]
  • Quantitative adherence, total dietary and fortified-food intake, concurrent B12, and iron/folate/transfusion/erythropoietin background or rescue treatment remain unverified. Fruit juice was specified only for the oral regimen, so isolated-route pharmacokinetic equivalence is not established. [S01]
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Permanent code issued

M.cyanocobalamin-dodex-ampule.oral-1mg-qd10d-qw4w-qm-90d.b12-deficiency-megaloblastic-anemia-day90-hb.raise.superiority-vs-same-cyanocobalamin-im-schedule

Medicinal substances > Cyanocobalamin Dodex ampule > Oral 1 mg daily 10 days/weekly 4 weeks/then monthly for 90 days > Day-90 Hb in B12-deficiency megaloblastic anemia > Raise > Superiority versus same-schedule intramuscular cyanocobalamin

The unadjusted day-90 endpoint difference is +0.10 g/dL (reconstructed 95% CI −0.31 to +0.51); this does not establish superiority, equivalence or noninferiority. The code identifies the intervention and claim; it never contains the evidence grade, score, or safety result.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Exact Claim Classification

These independent facets prevent evidence from different forms, routes, populations, effects, and comparators from being mixed.

Intervention classM · Medicine
Canonical ingredient or interventionCyanocobalamin, single-active vitamin B12
Source or part usedManufacturing origin, batch and purity not reported; botanical part not applicable
Formulation or processingDodex(Deva,Turkey)1000mcg ampule contents swallowed in20mL fruitjuice; not tablets; extra salt/release specification unreported
RouteOral swallowed regimen versus same cyanocobalamin intramuscular injection
DoseBoth arms1000mcg per administration: daily10days, weekly4weeks, then monthly. First14 administrations subtotal14000mcg; total90day dose unknown
Duration90day observation; lifelong monthly plan is not lifelong followup
PopulationObserved adults32–87years, nonpregnant/nonlactating, B12<160pg/mL, megaloblastic anemia, MCV>94fL and analyzed baseline Hb<12g/dL. Dietary/gastric or suspected malabsorption/uncertain causes without cause-specific Hb; normal folate, iron status unreported
Effect or conditionDoes this actual oral regimen raise Hb more than the same-schedule IM cyanocobalamin regimen? Superiority unestablished; not placebo efficacy, equivalence or noninferiority
Primary endpointDay90 Hb(g/dL), an article-stated primary endpoint; unadjusted endpoint MD/reconstructedCI. Adjusted endpoint/changeCI and registered primary-time hierarchy unverified
ComparatorDodex1000mcg IM with the same loading/weekly/monthly schedule; common additional hematinic treatment unreported; fruitjuice specified only orally
Duplicate-detection keyM|cyanocobalamin|dodex-1000mcg-ampule-in-20ml-juice|oral|1mg-qd10d-qw4w-qm|90d|adult-b12lt160pgml-megaloblastic-anemia-hblt12-mcvgt94-mixed-reported-causes|hb-recovery|day90-unadjusted-final-hb-gdl|same-cyano-im-schedule|superiority-not-ni
01

What the research actually shows

Bolaman 2003 enrolled 70 participants and excluded 10 lost to follow-up, analyzing 26 oral and 34 IM participants. Hemoglobin was an article-stated primary endpoint; day 90 was the last planned and reported response visit, not a registry-verified unique primary time point. The oral group swallowed the contents of the same 1,000 mcg cyanocobalamin ampule mixed with 20 mL of fruit juice. This was not a tablet trial: the comparison includes the actual juice-containing regimen. [S01] Mean (SD) hemoglobin changed from 8.4 (2.1) to 13.8 (0.7) g/dL orally and from 8.3 (2.3) to 13.7 (0.9) g/dL with IM treatment. Rounded mean increases were approximately +5.4 g/dL in each arm, not effects against an untreated control. An adjusted endpoint difference, a change-score SD or CI, and an exact between-group P value were not reported. The reconstructed endpoint CI is neither the original Mann–Whitney test nor a noninferiority analysis. [S01;C01;C02] The direct trial reported nonpregnant, nonlactating adults with serum B12 <160 pg/mL, MCV >94 fL and megaloblastic anemia; analyzed participants had baseline hemoglobin <12 g/dL. Dietary and gastric causes were mixed, and intrinsic-factor testing was not performed. The cohort must not be described as entirely confirmed pernicious anemia. Folate was reported as normal, but iron status and cause-specific hemoglobin results were not reported. Serum B12, MCV and reticulocytes were retained as separate measures, not substitutes for hemoglobin. [S01]

02

Why this is classified as C (46)

The unchanged supplied calculator yields C from clinical claim B, surrogate endpoint S, one direct trial R1, unverified-funding fallback I1, conventionally small magnitude E~, small-sample and complete-case limitations B2, and a null precision axis. Zero strength flags give the supplied fixed score of 46. Without a verified clinical criterion, magnitude was classified by statistical convention (Hedges g ≈0.1204). E~ does not establish statistical positivity or failure to meet a verified MCID. The score is not a treatment-success probability. [S01;C03]

Counterpoint. C/46 does not mean that treatment of B12 deficiency as a whole is ineffective. It narrowly evaluates whether the actual oral regimen raises hemoglobin more than the active IM comparator. Direct hemoglobin data were not concealed behind an unknown grade, and nonsignificance alone was not converted to D/E0 or equivalence. [S01]

Rejudgment record. One direct between-groupHb result; superiority unestablished — Supplied unchanged calculator/table, amended cases28/29/45 and fixed anchor

Stored scoring profile
EndpointSSurrogate marker - laboratory or imaging measures
Case application: Hb is laboratory surrogateS, distinct from fatigue, transfusion, death or functioning.
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
Case application: R1 is the internal code for one direct trial in this fixed boundary, not certification of a strong confirmatory design.
IndependenceI1Mixed funding sources
Effect sizeE~Statistically positive but below the threshold

Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (C).

Review performed and remaining limitations

2026-09-16 single-assistant self-review. Source-location, numeric, code, bilingual and archive checks have the declared scope; not independent external clinical review, journal certification or search-completeness assurance.

Hb is an article-stated primary endpoint, but day90 was not independently verified as the unique prespecified primary visit. Original allocation by arm, adjusted/changeCI, iron status, transfusion/rescue treatment, adherence, exact90day cumulative dose and complete funding details remain unverified. [S01]

Preliminary RoB 2-informed review — not a complete formal assessment
RandomizationBlock randomization reported; concealment implementation unreported. [S01]
Deviations from assigned interventionsOpen-label route comparison, oraljuice and nurse-administeredIM; co-treatments/adherence unreported. [S01]
Missing outcome data10lost out of70enrolled excluded;26/34completers. ITT/imputation unverified. [S01]
Outcome measurementObjective Hb assay, assessor blinding unverified; endoscopy blinding not transferred to Hb. [S01]
Selection of the reported resultRegistry/SAP, multiplicity and primary-visit hierarchy unverified; day90 absent from abbreviated CBC-methods list but present in response criteria/table. [S01]
Reasons for the certainty judgment — not formal GRADE
Risk of biasSmall sample and complete-case analysis are two separate B2 defects.
InconsistencyNo verified replication of this exact claim; different forms/populations/endpoints do not createR0.
IndirectnessNarrowed to actual ampule+juice comparison; no cause-specific Hb or adjusted-change result.
ImprecisionReconstructedCI spans0 and both directions; no clinical margin supports exclusion of meaningful benefit.
Publication biasOne small trial plus inaccessible abstract/registry history; reporting/publication bias cannot be excluded.

Search scope and limitations. audit/search_log.json and audit/access_log.json contain actual web searches and source/registry access. Subscription Embase/Scopus searches and complete database exports were not performed.

03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Bolaman et al. Oral versus intramuscular cobalamin treatment in megaloblastic anemia. Clin Ther. 2003;25:3124–3134.Single-center prospective randomized open-label active-control trial; 90-day complete-case analysis70 enrolled, 10 lost to follow-up; 26 oral and 34 intramuscular participants analyzedFunding source and product supply unverifiedUnadjusted day-90 endpoint mean difference in blood hemoglobin (g/dL)Oral 13.8 (0.7) versus intramuscular 13.7 (0.9) g/dL; oral-minus-IM +0.10 g/dL, editor-reconstructed 95% CI −0.31 to +0.51. Superiority, equivalence and noninferiority were not established.One decisive directly applicable trial family
§

Receipt — 28 References

Evidence access cutoff: 2026-09-16. Each citation states its actual access level (full-text transcription, abstract, index, or other) and remaining limitations. Bibliographic checking does not certify the study results or treatment efficacy.

Reference 1
checked
Reference 2
checked
Reference 3
checked
Reference 4
checked
Reference 5
checked
Reference 6
checked
Reference 7
checked
Reference 8
checked
Reference 9
checked
Reference 10
checked
Reference 11
checked
Reference 12
checked
Reference 13
checked
Reference 14
checked
Reference 15
checked
Reference 16
checked
Reference 17
checked
Reference 18
checked
Reference 19
checked
Reference 20
checked
Reference 21
checked
Reference 22
checked
Reference 23
checked
Reference 24
checked
Reference 25
checked
Reference 26
checked
Reference 27
checked
Reference 28
checked
Restricted to the Bolaman 2003 ampule-plus-juice oral regimen versus same-compound intramuscular treatment at day 90; Codex performs only identifier, format, build and deployment checks.
Technical integration by: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-09-16 · Corrections: none

Cite this verdict

Does oral cyanocobalamin raise day-90 hemoglobin more than same-schedule intramuscular cyanocobalamin in B12-deficiency anemia? Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] Does oral cyanocobalamin raise day-90 hemoglobin more than same-schedule intramuscular cyanocobalamin in B12-deficiency anemia? — Evidence Grade C·46. 28 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/energy/oral-cyanocobalamin-vs-im-b12-deficiency-anemia-hemoglobin/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.