CHAMGAP
VERIFIEDPassed the Codex final verification and publication gate. Evidence-verification cutoff: 2026-07-21. AI was used for research and drafting; the existence of all 7 cited sources was verified at the original page, followed by blind grading, adversarial audit, and build validation. Methodology v1.0.
Verdict No. 916 · Search date 2026-07-21 · Methodology v1.0

N-acetylcysteine,
does it really help with Relief of obsessive-compulsive symptoms measured by Y-BOCS when added to existing treatment in adults?

30-Second Summary
D
Evidence Grade D · 35 · Safety caution
The 20-week Y-BOCS difference was 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23), the Costa trial found -1.30 (-6.49 to 3.89), the Afshar trial found -5.14 (-7.05 to -3.23), and the five-to-eight-week pooled MD was positive at -2.95 (-5.87 to -0.04). Results conflict and do not exclude clinically meaningful benefit, so the grade is D with 35 points, not F.
What the
research shows
The 20-week Y-BOCS difference was 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23), the Costa trial found -1.30 (-6.49 to 3.89), the Afshar trial found -5.14 (-7.05 to -3.23), and the five-to-eight-week pooled MD was positive at -2.95 (-5.87 to -0.04). Results conflict and do not exclude clinically meaningful benefit, so the grade is D with 35 points, not F.
What the
ads claim
Marketing can turn antioxidant and glutamate-modulating mechanisms into a claim that NAC stops obsessive thoughts. The identified trials evaluated off-label augmentation of existing SSRI or SRI treatment, not monotherapy or replacement of prescribed treatment.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • OCD trials generally added NAC doses ranging from 600 to 3,000 mg per day to existing SSRI or SRI treatment; they did not establish supplement monotherapy.
  • NAC is used as a medicine for acetaminophen poisoning and certain respiratory indications, but those medical uses do not establish efficacy of a supplement for OCD.
  • Oral NAC can cause nausea, diarrhea, abdominal pain, heartburn, and an unpleasant odor or taste, while rash or hypersensitivity is uncommon.
  • Content, formulation, quality, and delivered exposure can vary across supplements, and prescribed psychiatric treatment should not be stopped or replaced with NAC without clinical supervision.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Candidate index · review held

S.n-acetylcysteine.oral.obsessive-compulsive-symptoms-measured-by-y-bocs-when-added-to-existing-treatment.relieve.MULTI

Supplements and nutraceuticals > N-acetylcysteine > Oral > obsessive-compulsive symptoms measured by Y-BOCS when added to existing treatment > Symptom-relief claim > Multiple: primary unresolved

An automated migration candidate, not an issued permanent code; exact claim scope remains under review. This machine-generated migration candidate helps retrieval but is not a permanent assignment. The original verdict ID and URL remain authoritative.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Gap Measurement · Verdict 916 · D 35
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

In the 98-person multicenter 20-week phase III trial, the week-20 between-group Y-BOCS difference was 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23, P=.70), and anxiety, depression, quality of life, functioning, and other secondary outcomes also did not improve. Other 16-week trials did not establish benefits in total scores or response. The Brazilian OCD guideline does not recommend NAC on the basis of better-quality negative trials, and the 2025 update guideline concluded that current evidence does not support efficacy. A five-to-eight-week signal in the 2024 six-trial meta-analysis and a positive 35-person pilot in 2026 remain, but are too small to overturn the best trial and guideline conclusions.

02

Why this is classified as D (35)

The 20-week Y-BOCS difference was 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23), the Costa trial found -1.30 (-6.49 to 3.89), the Afshar trial found -5.14 (-7.05 to -3.23), and the five-to-eight-week pooled MD was positive at -2.95 (-5.87 to -0.04). Results conflict and do not exclude clinically meaningful benefit, so the grade is D with 35 points, not F.

Counterpoint. People who remain symptomatic despite an adequate SSRI or clomipramine course and exposure-and-response-prevention therapy should first discuss better-established augmentation strategies with a specialist. If NAC is tried, its off-label adjunctive status and explicit response and stopping criteria should be clear. Grade-independent note: Brazilian and Indian guidance recommends against NAC use. These recommendations and adverse-effect information are not used to determine the efficacy grade.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check revision — The 20-week Y-BOCS difference was 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23), the Costa trial found -1.30 (-6.49 to 3.89), the Afshar trial found -5.14 (-7.05 to -3.23), and the five-to-eight-week pooled MD was positive at -2.95 (-5.87 to -0.04). Results conflict and do not exclude clinically meaningful benefit, so the grade is D with 35 points, not F.

▦

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Reduction of total obsessive-compulsive symptoms on Y-BOCS when added to existing treatmentDGuidelines do not support efficacy or recommend use, and the best 98-person 20-week phase III trial had a null 0.53-point Y-BOCS difference.
Reduction of obsession symptoms when added to existing treatmentDGuidelines do not support NAC efficacy or recommend use, and the best trial and pooled obsession outcomes did not establish a consistent benefit.
Reduction of compulsion symptoms when added to existing treatmentDGuidelines do not support NAC efficacy or recommend use, and the best trial and pooled compulsion outcomes did not establish a consistent benefit.
✓

Cross-check — AI research and Codex final gate

AI was used for research and drafting. Blind grading, adversarial audit, and the methodology boundary rules were then reapplied before Codex performed the final evidence, grade, copy, and build checks. If a grade cannot be narrowed, both evidence positions and their reasons are published.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Eghdami S et al. 2024Systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized clinical trialsSix randomized trials and 195 participantsFunded by Iran University of Medical SciencesTotal Y-BOCS, obsession and compulsion subscales, and adverse eventsThe five-to-eight-week total Y-BOCS mean difference was -2.95, while results beyond 12 weeks and on both subscales were not significant.Key synthesis with a small sample and inconsistency
Costa DLC et al. 2017Sixteen-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled augmentation trialForty treatment-resistant adults recruitedFunding was not reported in the PubMed abstractChange in total Y-BOCS at 16 weeksNAC 3,000 mg/day did not differ from placebo in Y-BOCS reduction (P=.92).Direct longer-term null adult trial
Afshar H et al. 2012Twelve-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled augmentation trialForty-eight patients with treatment-refractory OCDFunding was not reported in the PubMed abstractY-BOCS change and full response defined as at least 35% reductionAdjunctive NAC up to 2,400 mg/day improved Y-BOCS and full-response rates versus placebo.Small positive signal contributing to inconsistency
Sarris J et al. 2022 phase III trialMulticenter 20-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled phase III augmentation trialNinety-eight participants with DSM-5 obsessive-compulsive disorderFunded by the Australian National Health and Medical Research CouncilTotal Y-BOCS at 20 weeks plus anxiety, depression, quality of life, and functioningThe week-20 between-group Y-BOCS difference was null at 0.53 points (95% CI -2.18 to 3.23, P=.70), and secondary outcomes did not improve.Best large direct null trial
Oliveira MVS et al. 2023 Brazilian OCD guidelineEvidence review and clinical practice guideline for pharmacological treatment of adult obsessive-compulsive disorderGuideline synthesis of four randomized NAC trialsBrazilian Research Consortium on Obsessive-Compulsive Spectrum DisordersEfficacy and recommendation for NAC augmentationDid not recommend NAC because positive trials had serious methodological problems and the better-quality trials were negative.Boundary evidence recommending against use
Arumugham SS et al. 2025 update guidelineUpdated clinical practice guideline for obsessive-compulsive disorderGuideline synthesis of small NAC trials and meta-analysesIndian Psychiatric Society guideline updateEfficacy of NAC augmentationConcluded that current evidence does not support NAC efficacy in obsessive-compulsive disorder.Boundary evidence from a guideline finding no efficacy support
Askari S et al. 2026 pilot trialTwelve-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled pilot trialThirty-five adults with moderate-to-severe obsessive-compulsive disorderFunded by Iran University of Medical SciencesTotal Y-BOCS, subscales, and cognitive functionThe time-by-group interaction for total Y-BOCS was positive, but this was a 35-person pilot and cognitive outcomes did not differ between groups.Current small positive signal
§

Receipt — 7 References

All 7 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-07-21).

Eghdami S, Eissazade N, Heidari Mokarar M, Boroon M, Orsolini L, Shalbafan M. The safety and efficacy of N-acetylcysteine as an augmentation in the treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder in adults: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized clinical trials. Front Psychiatry. 2024;15:1421150. PMID: 39376972. PMCID: PMC11456833. DOI: 10.3389/fpsyt.2024.1421150.
checked
Costa DLC, Diniz JB, Requena G, et al. Randomized, Double-Blind, Placebo-Controlled Trial of N-Acetylcysteine Augmentation for Treatment-Resistant Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. J Clin Psychiatry. 2017;78(7):e766-e773. PMID: 28617566. DOI: 10.4088/JCP.16m11101.
checked
Afshar H, Roohafza H, Mohammad-Beigi H, et al. N-acetylcysteine add-on treatment in refractory obsessive-compulsive disorder: a randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. J Clin Psychopharmacol. 2012;32(6):797-803. PMID: 23131885. DOI: 10.1097/JCP.0b013e318272677d.
checked
Sarris J, Byrne G, Castle D, et al. N-acetyl cysteine (NAC) augmentation in the treatment of obsessive-compulsive disorder: A phase III, 20-week, double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial. Prog Neuropsychopharmacol Biol Psychiatry. 2022;117:110550. PMID: 35304155. DOI: 10.1016/j.pnpbp.2022.110550.
checked
Oliveira MVS de, Barros PMF de, Mathis MA de, et al. Brazilian Research Consortium on Obsessive-Compulsive Spectrum Disorders guidelines for the treatment of adult obsessive-compulsive disorder. Part I: pharmacological treatment. Braz J Psychiatry. 2023;45(2):146-161. PMID: 36749887. PMCID: PMC10154009. DOI: 10.47626/1516-4446-2022-2891.
checked
Arumugham SS, Narayanaswamy JC, Balachander S, et al. Clinical practice guidelines for obsessive-compulsive disorder: 2025 update. Indian J Psychiatry. 2026;68(1):44-67. PMID: 41694048. PMCID: PMC12900050. DOI: 10.4103/indianjpsychiatry_1259_25.
checked
Askari S, Eghdami S, Tavasoli M, et al. Clinical symptoms and cognitive functioning following adjunctive N-acetylcysteine in obsessive-compulsive disorder: a double-blind, placebo-controlled trial. Commun Med (Lond). 2026. PMID: 42260157. DOI: 10.1038/s43856-026-01711-6.
checked
Research and draft: AI used · Cross-check: blind grading and adversarial audit
Final verification and publication gate: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-07-21 · Corrections: none
↗

Cite this verdict

N-acetylcysteine x adjunctive treatment of adult obsessive-compulsive disorder Evidence Grade D card
[Chamgap] N-acetylcysteine x adjunctive treatment of adult obsessive-compulsive disorder — Evidence Grade D·35. 7 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/mood/n-acetylcysteine-adjunct-ocd-y-bocs-symptoms/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.
↑