CHAMGAP
VERIFIEDPassed the Codex final verification and publication gate. Evidence-verification cutoff: 2026-08-18. AI was used for research and drafting; the existence of all 1 cited sources was verified at the original page, followed by blind grading, adversarial audit, and build validation. Methodology v1.0.
Verdict No. 2734 · Search date 2026-08-18 · Methodology v1.0

L. plantarum ATCC 202195 plus FOS,
does it really help with Reduced sepsis or death by 60 days in healthy, relatively mature rural newborns?

30-Second Summary
C
Evidence Grade C · 56 · Safety caution
A specific ATCC 202195-plus-FOS combination reduced sepsis in healthy, relatively mature newborns
No major safety signal was reported, but deaths were few, six versus four. Neonatal use requires confirmation of product identity and specialist clinical context.
What the
research shows
The grade is C with 56 points. A double-blind placebo-controlled trial across 149 villages in Odisha, India followed 4,556 newborns who weighed at least 2,000 g, were at least 35 weeks' gestation, and had no morbidity at enrollment. Sepsis or death occurred in about 5.4% versus 9.0%, RR 0.60 (95% CI 0.48–0.74), an absolute reduction of about 3.6 points. The calculated NNT is about 28, but the source table reports 27 (19–47), which takes precedence. The trial stopped at 4,556 of a planned 8,442 infants after reaching its prespecified O'Brien–Fleming efficacy boundary. Evidence applies only to the exact patented ATCC 202195 strain plus 150 mg FOS combination.
What the
ads claim
This cannot be compressed into 'probiotics prevent neonatal sepsis.' The strain number, FOS combination, dosing, birth weight, gestational age, health status, and rural context must match.
*

Useful facts when choosing a product

  • The decisive intervention was L. plantarum ATCC 202195 plus FOS.
  • Evidence that Korean retail infant products display this strain number was not identified.
  • Deaths alone were six versus four, and benefit was driven mainly by less sepsis.
ID

Chamgap Semantic Classification Code

Candidate index · review held

UNK.exact-synbiotic-combination-of-lactiplantibacillus-plantarum-atcc-202195-plus-fructooligosaccharide.UNK.sepsis-or-death-by-in-healthy-relatively-mature-rural-newborns.reduce.placebo

Unknown > exact synbiotic combination of Lactiplantibacillus plantarum ATCC 202195 plus fructooligosaccharide > Unknown > sepsis or death by in healthy, relatively mature rural newborns > Reduction claim > Placebo

An automated migration candidate, not an issued permanent code; exact claim scope remains under review. This machine-generated migration candidate helps retrieval but is not a permanent assignment. The original verdict ID and URL remain authoritative.

Download semantic index (JSON) · Codebook v1

Gap Measurement · Verdict 2734 · C 56
What advertising claims
What independent, higher-quality research supports
△ GAP
01

What the research actually shows

The study was funded by Eunice Kennedy Shriver NICHD grants U01 HD 40574 and R01 HD 53719, with no NICHD role in design, collection, analysis, interpretation, or writing. Individual randomization, double masking, assigned-group analysis of 4,556 infants, and the prespecified composite primary outcome are documented, but the concrete implementation of allocation concealment is not reported. The DSMB unblinded data after 4,556 of the planned 8,442 infants had enrolled; consensus that the prespecified O'Brien–Fleming efficacy boundary had been reached led to early termination.

02

Why this is classified as C (56)

The prespecified hard composite improved by about 3.6 points, but unreported allocation-concealment implementation and early stopping at 4,556 of a planned 8,442 are two limitations, making B2 and capping the grade at C with 56 points.

Counterpoint. The effect is strain- and combination-specific and is not evidence for critically ill or extremely preterm infants.

Rejudgment record. Cross-check applied — The NIH-funded trial reduced its prespecified hard composite by about 3.6 points, but allocation-concealment implementation was not reported and the trial stopped at 4,556 of a planned 8,442 after reaching its prespecified O'Brien–Fleming efficacy boundary

Stored scoring profile
EndpointHHard endpoint - actual events such as death
ReplicationR1Single confirmatory trial
IndependenceI2Decisive evidence is publicly or non-profit funded
Effect sizeE+Meets the clinically important threshold

Stored derived and displayed grades match; this is not a current recalculation or validity check (C).

▦

Sub-claim grades by effect

This ingredient is marketed for several effects. A single overall grade blends strong and weak claims together, so each effect is graded separately here. The overall grade reflects the strongest disconfirming or core claim.

Effect (sub-claim)GradeBasis
Reduced sepsis or death with ATCC 202195 plus FOSCRR was 0.60 with an absolute reduction of about 3.6 points, but concealment implementation was unreported and the trial stopped early.
The same effect from generic infant probiotics?Different strains and combinations are not direct evidence.
✓

Cross-check — AI research and Codex final gate

AI was used for research and drafting. Blind grading, adversarial audit, and the methodology boundary rules were then reapplied before Codex performed the final evidence, grade, copy, and build checks. If a grade cannot be narrowed, both evidence positions and their reasons are published.
03

Evidence Table

StudyDesignSampleFundingEndpointResultWeight
Panigrahi P et al. 2017 Odisha synbiotic trialDouble-blind placebo-controlled randomized trial across 149 villages; stopped early at a prespecified efficacy boundaryPlanned 8,442; 4,556 randomized and analyzed through 60 daysEunice Kennedy Shriver NICHD, NIH grants U01 HD 40574 and R01 HD 53719; the institute had no research roleComposite of sepsis or death by 60 daysAbout 5.4% versus 9.0%, RR 0.60 (95% CI 0.48–0.74), absolute difference about -3.6 points, source-table NNT 27 (19–47) versus calculated NNT about 28; deaths 6 versus 4Single large publicly funded trial of the exact strain-plus-FOS combination; allocation-concealment implementation unreported and stopped early
§

Receipt — 1 References

All 1 cited sources were verified for existence at the original page (as of 2026-08-18).

Panigrahi P, Parida S, Nanda NC, et al. A randomized synbiotic trial to prevent sepsis among infants in rural India. Nature. 2017;548:407-412. PMID: 28813414. DOI: 10.1038/nature23480. NCT01214473; CTRI/2009/091/000069.
checked
Research and draft: AI used · Cross-check: blind grading and adversarial audit
Final verification and publication gate: Codex · Evidence date: 2026-08-18 · Corrections: none
↗

Cite this verdict

L. plantarum ATCC 202195 plus FOS x sepsis or death in rural newborns Evidence Grade C card
[Chamgap] L. plantarum ATCC 202195 plus FOS x sepsis or death in rural newborns — Evidence Grade C·56. 1 cited sources checked. Source: https://chamgap.com/en/verdicts/immunity/lp-atcc-202195-fos-rural-newborn-sepsis/ · CC BY 4.0

CC BY 4.0 — free to use with attribution; do not distort grades, numbers, or verdict meaning.

!

What this document does and does not do

Chamgap is an information source. It reports what research has and has not confirmed; it does not tell readers what to take or buy. That decision belongs to readers and, when needed, medical or legal professionals. This verdict reflects literature available up to the search date and may change as new research appears. Nothing here is medical advice.
↑